‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 9 (Part 4)

Friday.  End of the week and the end of Heather and I being home alone without the kids.  I hate to say it, but I’m really excited about them coming home tomorrow.  Heather and I had a really simple plan for the day today, CLEAN!!  I will admit that our house is not clean.  It’s amazing how much cleaning the kids do around the house for us, and we had a lot to catch up on to make sure the house was clean enough for my parents and even ourselves.  So, Heather got up early this morning and headed off to work and I got up around eight and started cleaning like the wind!  I contacted Heather to see how work was going, and she had one word, “hectic”.

I got to work and it was mass chaos the minute I walked in the door.  So much so, that I was supposed to be on carryout grill and somehow I ended up on front end sandwiches.  And if that wasn’t enough, I was on front end sandwiches with the district manager standing right next to me, breathing down my neck.  But, on the plus side, I got a compliment from him saying that I did an excellent job under the pressure, which Heather said even she does not get compliments from him.

I came home and we both crashed.  We crashed so much, that we both took about an hour long nap.  That was just to make it through the rest of the evening.  We got up, dressed up a little and then headed over to Cracker Barrell.  We had a great dinner and then went to Suzie Q’s for dessert.  It was a nice evening as a last date before the kids came home.  We got home and then it was time to scramble cleaning the house, and that’s just what we did.  We got done around eleven o’clock, went upstairs, read together and then went to sleep.

Okay, let’s talk about Part 4 of Chapter 9 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 9 (Part 4):  From The Private Journals of Mace Windu:  Kar Vastor led my grasser on foot, through the thick jungle.  I’m beginning to think that not only can he sense clear paths in the bush, he can also create them.  He used some power I could not sense to make the vines move and the trees depart.  I felt as though we were carried as a part of pelekotans dream.  I got my first view of the Upland Liberation Front.  The ULF, which was supposed to be the scurge that would drive the Confederacy off this planet, seemed to barely be alive!  The march had a bunch of ragged, wounded moving on blood stains and stench.  Their latest operations had been an attempt not to kill Balawai, but to secure medpacs, food, clothing, weapons, and ammunition.  They were all heading for the base they kept in the mountains where all the Korun people gathered.  They were beginning to learn that they weren’t used to close quarters living as dysentary and pneumonia killed more Korunnai than gunships.  Speaking of gunships, they seemed to ever linger in the sky as you could hear the hum of their engines.  Every once in a while, flame would flood the jungle canopy.  They were taking blind shots and were hoping we would fire back so that we could give them our location.  The Korun simply kept moving, drawing their strength from pelekotan, The Force.  During this trip, the ULF learned of a new Balawai tactic, the night raid.  They would fly overhead and shoot into the jungle with laser cannons, just to disrupt our sleep.  The more days we walked on , the more Korun wo8uld wander off into the woods, permanently.  There were many large predators on Haruun Kal that were more than happy to pick off the weak members of our caravan.  Nick referred to us as a walking “all you can eat buffet”.  Taht is also why the ULF don’t guard their prisoners well…..

Leave a Reply

