‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 7 (Part 4)

Friday.  End of the week and the beginning of a potentially fun week for Heather and I.  Next week we will be “kid less” but for now, we’re not!  I got up at my usual time today and went walking.  I got home and told the kids that we were going out right away.  They asked why and I told them that at the advice of some people from the Mando Mercs, daddy was going to try and make his own T-Visor before we leave for Rochester today.  Well, we went to Advanced Auto Parts to try and find mirrored window tinting, but there wasn’t any there.  I then went to Harco Automotive and the guy there told me that he didn’t think anyone around here would have it simply because it’s illegal to put on cars in New York State.

So, I came home and started to make phone calls.  I called every auto store I could find in the phone book and came up empty.  But, I did find some places online, but thought I better at least go pick up the face shield.  So, I went to Lowes with the kids and thought I would just call it a day.  I got the face shield no problem and then thought, huh, I know people tint their house windows, wonder if they have “do it yourself” kits for that.  So I asked one of the Lowes employees and he pointed me toward the House Wares section and to the blinds.  Sure enough, I found reflective tinting in sheets there with kits to apply it.  So, for about $40, I was able to buy a T-Visor and a boat load of the sheeting that should last me a lifetime!  I bought the kit as well.

I came home, the kids had some brunch while I started to work on the project.  I worked most of the morning and the afternoon on it.  I got the T-Visor cut out in about an hour and I was able to attempt to put on the reflective sheething, but it wasn’t working too well.  So, I waited till Heather came home.  She got home and that was the first thing we did together and I have to say that the T-Visor came out looking pretty good!  We got done with that and we took a short nap and then headed out to Rochester for my father’s retirement party tomorrow.

We got on the road by about three-thirty and ate dinner on the road.  Heather wanted to take the kids to Hank’s on our way to mom and dad’s but my son pulled one of the dumbest stunts ever, when he decided to put a sticker up his nose on the way to Rochester on a dare from his sisters.  Well, needless to say, he had a bloddy nose and we decided against it.  Instead Heather and I went straight to mom and dad’s house.  We sat and talked with them for a while and then asked if we could go out on on our own, and mom and dad said that was fine with them.  Heather needed to go to Target for something and we needed to get my father a retirement gift from Barnes and Nobles.  So, we went to both the Barnes and Nobles and the Target in Webster.  We got done there and headed over to Hank’s and got some ice-cream there and came home.  We stayed up late with my parents talking about life and “things” and then we all went to bed late.  Tomorrow was going to be a long day!

Okay, let’s talk about Part 4 of Chapter 7 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 7 (Part 4):  Mace knew this wouldn’t be enough and used The Force to try and convince Rankin to pull his men back toward the compound.  Rankin reminded Mace about his warning about the compound and mace said the compound won’t protect them, but he can.  Pell begged Mace to save her mother and Mace told her to be strong.  Rankin oredered his men to join them by the bunker, but Terrell’s father said that all the Korno is trying to do is get them locked into a crossfire.  Then a flare went ineo the sky as Terrell’s father tried to take pot shots at Mace and he was forced to pull out his lightsaber and defend himself.  That’s when Rankin was surprised to see the lightsaber and mace told Keela to get the children behind the dead Korunnai bodies in teh back of the bunker as that will provide cover.  That’s when the shouting about a Jedi came from outside the cave and Terrell insisted they all kill him.  As blaster fire started to rain down on Mace, he ignited Depa’s lightsaber in his right hand and he deflected each bolt with extreme precision.  Mace slipped further into The Force and his Vapaad training, to the point that he was no longer thinking about what he was doing.  But, he knew if he stayed in the doorway to the bunker much longer, the children would be injured…..

Leave a Reply

