‘Star War: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 7 (Part 3)

What a friggin day!  It started off okay, but when downhill VERY quick after that!  I got up my usual time and went for a walk and started to feel the burn a little this morning, but I’m still going pretty strong as far as being able to walk the distances and amount I want to.  However, I will say that this morning I started to feel some of those shin splints.  Anyway, I got done with my walk and came home and started watching Dr. Phil like I do every morning, when I got a phone call from my Vice Chapter Rep for the Binghamton FanForce and he asked me to call him right back.

Well, to make a long story short, we had another “botched” event planned by someone else in the group.  NO information was passed along to those of us in a position to lead, so we had to cancel on the event coordinators.  I wasn’t trying to be mean, but we need to be able to plan events weeks in advance and this event would have been happening next weekend.  I’m not even sure what is going to be going on in our house at that point in time, not to mention, we weren’t sure about the other members.  One thing led to another, and well, one of our members quit.  I’m not happy about it and as a matter of fact I have a lot of guilt about the situation, in all honesty.  I didn’t want to put ourselves in this position, and I didn’t necesarily want to have this person quit, but life deals you cards and you play with them.  So, I was distraught already.

But, on the bright side, Danny and Shannon came over today and we played minis while I tried to deal with all of this mess before work.  We had a good time while the kids watched some T.V. and played Playstation and we played a game of minis, and for the first time, one of my strategies worked, and I won!  Yeah!  It made me feel so much better as a mins player, that I am actually looking forward to continuing using this strategy in the future.  While we were playing the game, I was forced to get dressed for work as we ran short on time.

I got to work a little late tonight and things did not go so swimmingly there either.  I had a girl I was working with this evening and she was on “coordinator” with me as sandwich maker and she kept trying to correct me when I tried to help her with her position.  Mind you, I was just trying to help.  Well, the “straw that broke the camel’s back” was when she took a bag that I had put together for a customer, dumped it on the counter, looked at me and said, “this is NOT how you bag a bag!” and then continued on bagging the bag, looking at me, throwing the things into the bag.  I got mad, looked at her, told her I was not “trained” on coordinator and that maybe if she did her job, I wouldn’t have to help her.  Well, that was it for this girl.  She walked around, cussing me out, cussing the job out, and dropping the F bomb at every free moment.  I was SO ticked off that my hands were shaking while I was trying to make sandwiches for the next hour.  I finally had to talk to the shift manager and he had to talk to the girl on three seperate occassions to get her to adjust her attitude.  I came home and told Heather that I really didn’t have the patience for this job anymore.  I really don’t like the idea of some punk teenage kids trying to tell me how to do MY job.  They may know more than I do, but they WILL treat me with respect.  Just because I’m not in a classroom does NOT mean that I will not command respect!

So, needless to say, it was a pretty crappy day!  But, there is one way to make my day better!  Let’s talk Star Wars.  Let’s talk about Part 3 of Chapter 7 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 7 (Part 3):  They have many wounded in their steamcrawlers with Kornu on their tail.  They need a place to hold up until dawn.  Mace tried to explain that ULF Guerillas are on their way back, but Rankin insisted they would at least see gunships at dawn.  Mace then explained that the ULF had hit this area and when Rankin asked about the bodies, mace told him to forget about the bodies.  Then Mace explained that he doesn’t know when the ULF will get here, but that Rankin will have no better time defending this fort than the Korun before him.  Mace told them that they needed to grab their children and run.  The father kept asking what Mace cared about and Mace explained that he didn’t want any more deaths.  Rankin pointed out that he can’t trust a guy he can’t see and that’s when Mace shot over their heads with the Thunderbolt explaining that he knew where all six of them were and if he wanted them dead, they would be by now.  Mace thought this might work.  Suddenly, the sound and sight of slug throwers occured from the woods down the slope of the steamcrawlers.  Screams came from that direction and one of them told Rankin that Mace planned this.  Rankin told his men to calm down and stay where they were…..

Leave a Reply

