‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 7 (Part 1)

Okay, the day after my birthday and I’m in extreme pain!  Wow!  I forgot how much stress this job at Wendy’s puts on my body physically.  My body simply aches and I just hurt all around.  I guess I’m not as young as I used to be.  Today was an ordinary day.  I got up early today again and got to my regimine of walking.  I keep doing it a little faster and increasing the distance I can go.  I do have to say that I’ve held up remarkebly well considering I have a tendency to get some nasty shin splints and none of that happened today.  The kids seem to be handling me walking in the mornings rather well considering I really didn’t plan on having them come along.  It’s a sign for Austin that he can get up in the morning and it’s a sign to the girls that I’ll be back in a half an hour.  Today, Heather insisted that we needed to try and get the new door in.  I’m a little leery about putting the new door in by ourselves, but she has faith that we can do it.  What makes me more confident about doing this is the fact that the door is pre-hung, so there should not be too much work to it.  I got done walking for the morning, came home and Heather came home early from work and we got right to work on putting the new door in.  First things first, we had to remove the old door.  That was actually the easy part.  The old screen door practically fell right off the hinges and off the frame.  The old door was not as easy, but it did eventually come out.  I have to say that the old door did not seem to be hung very well, which might explain some of the problems we’ve had with it in the past.

We put the new door in with relative ease.  Heather held it up, while I worked some shims in and the door seemed pretty level and we got the door in.  Seems real easy.  Until we got to the point that we had to put the door knob and dead bolt on.  Heather first asked me to dremel out some of the over-hang, which I did, but for some reason this did not seem to fix our door knob problem.  So, we tried again and again.  This made me really nervous as now we could not lock our front door.  But, after eating some food and brainstorming, Heather realized she had put the door handle on backwards.  Woops!  Okay, so we got it fixed and I have to say the door looks pretty nice now.  Interestingly enough, the trim is now messed up and that’s something I’ll have to fix later because when the door is hung level, the trim is off kilter.  I’m assuming the previous owners did that because they were lazy.  I finished haning the door and did some work in my shop and by the time all of that happened, it was time to eat an early dinner and get off to work.

It was an interesting night at work.  Things were slow and I was sent home early, so I went downstairs, watched some T.V. with Heather and we all went to bed around eleven o’clock.  It’s hard to believe that almost two weeks of my summer have already gone by.

Okay, enough “real life” chat, let’s talk about Part 1 of Chapter 7 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 7 – Games In The Dark (Part 1):  The Balawai were experienced regulars as they entered the compound in he standard three squad, two team formation.  These six squad members entered silently, telling Mace that they had night-vision equipment.  Mace stood in what seemed to be impenetrable darkness and he told Terrel to go ahead and call out.  He moved forward toward the bunker door as Mace sensed six rifles trained on the young boy as he became visible.  He introduced himself as Terrell Nakay.  Suddenly, a woman called out asking about his sister, Keela.  Keela, from inside the bunker, called out and told their mother that they were both okay.  A man named Rankin told her to be quiet and warned that they don’t know who else could be in the bunker, considering the state of the rest of the compound.  Pek Rankin then asked Terrell to come out where they all could see him and Mace asked Terrell if he knew Rankin.  Terrell said it was a friend of his father’s.  Mace told Terrell to go out slowly with his hands in plain sight.  As Terrell exited, he asked someone to put on a light so he could see.  Rankin said he would in a minute, then began asking a whole bunch of questions aobu the steamcrawler and where they had been.  As Terrell continued answering questions, he kept moving toward their voices and he finally told them that the girls can’t come out and they can’t go in…..

Leave a Reply

