‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 6 (Part 12)

Sunday.  End of the week, but just the beginning of the fun for me.  Heather and I decided today to sleep in as yesterday’s work just seemed to drain all the energy we had.  So, we didn’t go to church in order to try and get things done around the house.  First off was cleaning up everything from yesterday and last night.  What a mess we had there, but it was all worth the while and I have to say that having a dish washer to wash the dishes while we did the rest of the work in the house was a God-send!  We finished cleaning up and Heather and I agreed that we wanted to fill in the one hole we have in the flooring so that we don’t roll our ankles or so the kids don’t hurt themselves on it.  So, we headed off to Lowes and bought some 5/8″ thick plywood and had them make the one free cut at the store in order to get it home.  Then I used my skill saw and cut it at home and then nailed it into the floor and then cut some smaller pieces to fill in some gaps.

After that, Heather said she wanted to go to Wal Mart.  So, we headed off to Wal Mart and looked for some things for the house.  I got some new strapping for my cod piece and got a new battery for my digital camera and some more rechargeables for the new backpack that I’ve created.  I’ll need more rechargeables, but I should be set for all of that now.  While I shopped for all of this stuff, Heather got a manicure and pedicure and I also managed to pick up the pictures from the wedding.  The kids and I also killed some time shopping around and we did manage to find some pads for Tara for rollerblading, so now all the kids have pads for rollerblading.  After Wal Mart, we went to Moe’s and got a quick lunch.  We got done and came home to the house.

Heather then decided she had a plan for changing one of our switches into a switch/outlet.  Simple concept, right?  Well, all I’ll say is that we worked on it all day long and it’s still not fixed.  Not sure what happened, but we just can’t seem to get the light switch to work.  This is why I did not become an electrician.  We worked on the kitchen most of the afternoon and into the evening until it was time for dinner.  I cooked some Hamburger Helper while she finished working and not getting the switch to work, although she swore she would!  We got done with dinner and decided to celebrate my birthday tonight since I will be working during dinner time tomorrow night.  I will whole-heartedly admit that I’m not looking forward to going back to work at Wendy’s this summer.  I think I just need a summer off to catch up on things.  But somehow, the more “caught up” I get the farther behind I get.  It’s just a never ending story.  While I finished working on the blog (thus the current typing), I watched Jeff Dunham’s “Spark of Insanity” and have been laughing uncontralably!  I love this guy!

Okay, so onto what we’re all here for.  Let’s talk about “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” Chapter 6, Part 12; by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 6 (Part 12):  From the Private Journals of Mace Windu:  I see the headlamps of four steamcrawlers heading our direction in the tracks.  Dawn is coming and I hope we can survive that long.  The eruption has slowed and so has the rain.  I have Chalk and Besh toward the front of the shelter while the children sleep in the back of the bunker.  Terrel appears to be their leader.  He’s a thirteen year old boy that is convinced that I will torture and murder the five children.  Now I feel vindicated for cleaning up the bodies around camp.  For all I know, the dead bodies could be the parents of one of these kids.  They’ve been through enough trauma in one day.  They don’t need more.  As the steamcrawlers inch ever so closer, I can’t help but wonder if this is going to be a big mistake on my part.  I got the scoop from Terrel as I had bandaged his arm earlier.  These steamcrawlers probably contain the same jungle prospectors who are fleeing the ULF that may have destroyed this outpost.  Terrel’s outpost had come under attack at dawn by the ULF and he was ordered to get the children out via steamcrawler by his own father.  They had no way of knowing that the ULF hit this outpost first…..

Leave a Reply

