‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 6: Civilians (Part 8)

Tuesday.  Just one more day until I get a day off and then the chaos will ensue for the musical.  I got up this morning and I was still exhausted.  Is it horrible that I can’t wait to get through the rest of this week?  I got the kids up this morning and somehow they had a ton of energy.  I don’t know how, and I told them it would haunt them later on in the week.  We got ourselves together and I managed to drag myself off to work while the kids skipped down the street on their way to school.

I got to school and got things together for the day and I have to say that I wasn’t as chipper today as I was yesterday.  But, I think I’m just tired from not getting back to my house until seven o’clock last night.  That may be part of it.  But, I managed to have some good classes with my students and we had a good discussion today about the projects we’re going to be doing this quarter and then we also reviewed how to read and write music.  Well, we started to, anyway.  I have to say that my nineth period class seemed to get better today, but I think it’s one of those classes that I’m going to have to work with on a day by day basis.  I got done with my day and I had set things up again like I had last night and I was hoping it would make musical rehearsal go smoother and it did.

We got done with school and my tech crew showed up to my room and we set everything up in what I would like to think is record time.  The rehearsal tonight was much better tonight.  I might even  say that the rehearsal tonight was flawless in the fact that we had little to no mistakes and I think the tech crew did an amazing job!  The cast did such a good job and their timing within the musical was so well done that we did an entire run-through and still had time left over at the end of rehearsal to sit down and talk about some things.  Our director had decided not to have rehearsal tomorrow night to give everyone a night off and we sat down and talked about what to expect on opening night.  I also sat down with the tech crew and had the same discussion with them.  We also talked about the pizza party we will have before the performance on Thursday night as a reward for all the hard work that they have done over the course of the last few weeks.  In reality, I have asked this tech crew to do quite a bit and they’ve responded positively to what they need to have done.  We’ve had some issues such as the camera not working or the camera simply stop recording or missed cues every now and again, but overall, I’ve been very pleased with this year’s crew and I know they will do a good job on Thursday and Friday night.

We got done with rehearsal and I went home where Heather had dinner waiting for me.  We ate dinner together as a family and then the kids cleaned up and Heather and I went downstairs and watched T.V. together.  The kids finished with dishes, took showers, and then went to bed.  We watched T.V. till ten o’clock and then decided to go to bed early.  Tomorrow was going to be a long day, but the good news was the fact that we wouldn’t have play rehearsal after school.  I kind of feel like I don’t know what I’ll do with my extra time.  Well, I lie, but I kind of feel that way.

Okay, let’s talk about Part 8 of Chapter 6 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 6 (Part 8):  I often think of Lesh and his horrible death and how he was eaten from the inside out.  I was shocked when I reached out with The Force to sense him and all I could sense was the darkness of the jungle.  This reminded me of the darkness of Depa.  I need to start listening more and thinking less.  The rumbling on the ground and the rain in the air tells me the eruptions on Pelek Baw are getting stronger.  There is smoke everywhere and the ULF have looted all the breath masks as well, which would result in death for me with these toxic gases.  Wait, I hear the screams of a child in the distance.  No, that can’t be, it mus be the call of some Haruun Kal predator.  It must be copying, wait…. now I hear Basic being spoken – ther ARE children out here!….

Leave a Reply

