‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 6: Civilians (Part 7)

Monday.  I knew it was going to be an interest week as soon as I got into school.  Today was the first day of he new quarter and of course that is always chaotic to any teacher who just had a change over of students.  But, not only did I have a changeover of students, but I had the musical to deal with and the mass chaos of finishing the grades from the last quarter.  Yeah, needless to say, my prep periods and free time are pretty much full right now.  I got up this morning and didn’t want to get up, but I did manage to push myself out of bed.  My children, however, couldn’t wait to get back to school.  I guess that’s a good sign and it’s better than them hating school altogether.  So, they got me up in a way instead of me getting them up.  We worked together as a team and they got off to school on time and I got off to work on time.

It was an interesting work day.  My classes are mixed and so far they are very quiet.  I know that this will change over time and I’m optimistic that it will be for the better.  Of course, optimism has never been my strong suit.  I made it through my classes and the only class that seemed to give me any grief was my nineth period class.  Interesting to me as this is the exact same period of students who gave me some problems last quarter at the beginning of the quarter.  I got done with my introductions to music today and then it was time to run musical rehearsal.  I decided to make my life a little easier this year and I put the sound table up front for the musical and I have to say that I think it worked out better.  I also went in today and set up the mics during eighth period and made sure the auditorium was locked.  This was one less thing my crew had to try and worry about at the end of the day.

Today’s musical rehearsal was one in full dress.  Needless to say, it was an interesting rehearsal.  We found out that some individuals did not have props and some others didn’t have costumes altogether.  It was not a great rehearsal and it was not a bad rehearsal.  It was a typical rehearsal where things go wrong just before the first performance.  It went, quite honestly, as I expected it to.  My wife was a little upset as she felt as though she wasn’t doing much during this rehearsal.  I told her I knew how she felt and we had a discussion about it over dinner.  On our way home, we decided to stop at Wendy’s and get some dinner on the fly.  We got home, the kids ate and went right to bed.  Heather and I ate dinner and then watched our usual gambit of shows including “Big Bang Theory”, “How I Met Your Mother”, “Two and a Half Men”, “Rules of Engagement”, and of course “C.S.I.:  Miami”.  Then we went to bed.

Okay, let’s talk about Part 7 of Chapter 6 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 6 (Part 7):  Nick said he was trying to deal with reality and I said he was simply avoiding it.  Then Nick quipped back askig if The Force will help us catch up with Depa and Dar who are now moving away from us.  Then I jumped on Galthra’s back and suggested the beast could carry one of us fast enough to catch-up.  Nick almost conceded and then told Mace their wasn’t a chance.  I offered I would watch over the others till he got back and again he told me to drop it!  Nick soon learned that I’m a stubborn man.  We rigged together a saddle and through The Force, convinced Galthra to let Nick ride her.  Shortly after he left, Besh and Chalk arranged themselves on the floor and I injected each of them with thanatizine.  We now sit here and wait for Nick to bring back this lor pelek, Kar Vastor, that will suddenly have a conscious and want to save a life instead of take it.  I took some time to bury the dead bodies while Nick was gone, but I know Nick would find it ridiculous that I would.  I did it for me because I cant’ stand to just see bodies lying around.  I sit here knowing that Depa has been within this area within the past forty-eight hours, yet I don’t feel her here, in the jungle, or on this planet!….

Leave a Reply

