‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 6: Civilians (Part 5)

Saturday.  Our vacation has now officially been ended, but in my mind, I’m still on vacation.  Heather and I got up later than normal this morning.  Why?  Well, we were both simply exhausted and just wanted to sleep in.  The kids were nice enough to actually get some breakfast quietly and then they watched some T.V. on the Disney channel while mom and dad slept in until ten o’clock in the morning.  It seems like forever and a day since I’ve slept in so late!  It was actually kind of nice to be able to do.  We got up this morning and Heather went right to work on her sewing and I went downstairs and started to work on the signs for the Binghamton Zoo event.

Now, you would think that printing out signs for the zoo event would be an easy process.  Well, somehow the computers in my house found a way to make it mass chaos and even more interestingly, they found a way to take a project that should have lasted an hour at most and turn it into about a three hour job.  First I sent upstairs to my printer (via the wireless network) the job for the poster that will tell people how much it will cost.  The first one took longer than I thought it should, but I thought it may have just have been a fluke, so I sent up a second.  Well, that one took almost a half an hour before the printer even began to print.  By the time I got done with this, it was time for lunch, so Heather and the kids ate, but I kept going.  I then tried to print up the banners, but they weren’t printing at all.   Then I tried again and they went through very slowly.  I finally got the banners finished by one-thirty and I thought now was the time to start my business cards.  I thought it was time to update the cards since they hadn’t been updated in at least a year.  I decided I would start with the business cards for my Podcast, “The Jedi Council Speaks” and while I was at Wal Mart last night I picked up some double side printable business cards to use to print on.  Well, this didn’t go so well.  I printed up the first batch and they printed off center, so they didn’t make the card.  I printed the second batch and they made the card.  Then I tried four other sheets and none of them printed right.  Crap!  So, I thought, maybe it’s the program I’m using.  So I switched to another program.  But with the same results.  Double crap!  I was furious by this point (some of you know how I get).  So, I decided to try and print off business cards for the Binghamton FanForce and the Mandalorian Mercs on the flip side.  They didn’t print right either.  I was really cheesed off now.  So, I decided to stop a minute to eat something of some sorts.  After all, it was now officially three in the afternoon.  I ate some left over chicken wings and then headed out to Staples to see if they could help me.

The guy at Staples was even baffled and said that maybe the printer was out of alignment.  So, he showed me how to do an alignment test and then I decided to buy another pack of business cards as I was running out already.  I got home, downloaded a program, did the alignment check and the printer was aligned fine.  I printed another set, same result, but on the old cards.  So, I broke open the new pack and had some success and some failure.  So, I decided that some of the problem was the fact that it was coming through the wireless delaying the printer somehow.  Basically, I learned that I need to be right next to the printer while it’s printing.  By the time I figured this out, it was officially time for dinner.  Man, where had my day gone?  We finished with dinner and I was finally able to print some business cards.  And my day was officially lost.  After I got done, I decided now was a time to relax, so I went downstairs and watched a Netflixed movie.  My wife, in amongst all of this had decided that now was a good time to take down the stairs in the basement.  I hate to admit it, it was probably a good idea as this was space we had lost in the basement and we needed it all back.  It was a long day, and a long night and Heather had some vast plans for tomorrow and we agreed that we would not go to church tomorrow in efforts to finish taking out the stairs and in hopes of getting the house back in order before the chaos of school and the musical began next week.

Okay, let’s talk about Part 5 of Chapter 6 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 6 (Part 5):  Nick assured me that he’s never met anyone more crazy and less evil than Master Billaba.  I tried to explain to Nick that the Jedi are pragmatic and are not concerned about individuals being good or bad.  We simply don’t want to see The Force used for personal gain.  Nick simply responded that he’s never sure why anybody does anything.  This didn’t put my mind at ease and it was about to get worse.  He says Depa never eats, has nightmares, has headaches, and neer leaves her tent for days at a time.  She can’t stand to see the light of the sun.  In some ways, I wish Nick had lied to me.  It’s possible that Depa is simply spending too much time with her own thoughts.  The outpost settlement sits at the crest of a ridge coming down from an active volcano that you may be able to hear in this recording.  The eruptions must not be too bad here, or why else build an outpost here?  The bunker I’m in overlooks the charred remains of the outpost.  It actually looks beautiful but smells horrible.  All that fighting I had done with Nick about innocent civilians really doesn’t mean anything…..

Leave a Reply

