‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 6: Civilians (Part 2)

Wednesday.  Really?  There is NO way that my vacation is half-way over!  Yet, somehow, it is!  Okay, so today I had one goal, I had to go over to the school and make sure that everything was set up there for the musical that will be happening next week.  So, I got up around nine o’clock and watched Dr. Phil downstairs.  I got things together and left the house around eleven o’clock this morning to go over to the school.  Heather had the day off, so it made it easier for me to leave the house.

I got to East by ten-thirty this morning to start working on the sets and what-not in the building.  I helped the director out with some of the projects that needed to get taken car of, such as putting sliders on props, finishing up some of the garland and putting together one of the flats.  I also made sure the one side of the prop was stable by screwing in some other pieces of wood to it.  Then I fixed some parts on the podium we use at the beginning and attached some PVC pipes to it for the flags to dress it up.  I stayed there until noon when Heather gave me a call and said she wanted to go to Wal Mart to go get some things she needed for around the house.  I told her to wait till I got home and then we would go together.  I didn’t want to tell her that I had a motive to want to join her.

So, I got home and we ate some lunch and then headed out to Vestal.  We got to Wal Mart and picked up some things.  I was hoping to run into some new Star Wars toys, but unfortunately, the Star Wars toys at my local Wal Mart have seemed to have slowed up.  All well.  I guess I should just get used to it.  Heather also wanted to go to Lowes and get some things there (like you ever have to ask me twice to go into Lowes).  We got done with all of this and we headed home.

Once we got home, we all made and ate dinner together and then the kids cleaned up dinner and we went downstairs and relaxed for a little while.  During the course of the night tonight I managed to find a backpack frame on Ebay tonight that I can use for the frame of my Mando pack which made me really excited.  Before the end of the evening, I managed to win mine.  Cool!  Now I have a backpack, now I just gotta wait for it to show up.  Damn!  Anyway, Heather and I worked on the room downstairs while we watched some T.V.  We’re trying to get our house back at least into one piece.  It was a long night, but by the time the night was over we were both really exhausted.  I can’t wait till tomorrow as I have a whole bunch of things already planned into my day.  Woohoo!

Okay, let’s talk about Part 2 of Chapter 6 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 6 (Part 2):  Nick said that civilians don’t exist and that to be in the jungle is to be in the war.  I told Nick tha the Balawai government claim innocent civilians are being killed, but Nick said it’s propaganda.  I’m not sure where I stand on the subject and Nick and I debated quite a bit on the way to this outpost.  Nick believes that the real civilians stay in the cities and take menial jobs.  He said that the Balawai do not enter the jungle unless they intend to do harm to the Korunnai.  I asked Nick abou the children and he got angry.  He said kids can shoot a weapon and they have no fear.  I said that killing children is wrong, no matter what the context.  Then NIck agreed with me and told me that I should tell the Balawai to stop killing Korunnai children as well.  Nick then said they are the good guys, but I echoed that phrase back to him with an edge.  I then told him that I had seen images of what they do to a prospector’s outpost and that is why I am here now…..

Leave a Reply

