‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 6: Civilians (Part 1)

Tuesday.  The second day of my vacation and I had a workshop I had to go to this morning.  Heather had managed to work things out so that she could come home early from work so the kids were only alone for about fifteen minutes between the time I left and the time she got home.  I got up and had to be at the workshop by eight o’clock this morning, which meant it was another day that I was not sleeping in.

The workshop wasn’t totally horrible.  As a matter of fact, it was kind of a nice workshop on Teaching For Understanding.  Most of this information I learned about while doing my online course for New England University.  It was review for me, but it was a nice and welcome review.  My only complaint about the workshop is the fact that it should have happened over the course of two or three days instead of one.  The entire workshop took six hours and we weren’t breaking for lunch.  I would rather have had a break for lunch, but that’s just who I am and I look forward to having three square meals a day.  But, I suppose I could afford to skip a meal every now and again!  LOL.  I got done with my workshop around two o’clock in the afternoon and I gave Heather a call and let her know I was on my way home.  When I got in the house, I found out that my wife had decided to start taking down the stairs in the basement.

So, going downstairs you could see a complete mess.  I wasn’t sure how I felt about this.  My feeling was that we should fix up the things that we have worked on instead of creating more messes.  But I’m also very anal retentive and I know my wife thinks I’m nuts when I say this stuff.  Besides she was right when she said it had to get taken care of at some point in time.  So, a mess now exists in my basement.  I helped Heather clean up a little bit and then it was time for dinner.  We went upstairs and made dinner and ate together as a family.  It was nice to have a semi-relaxing moment on the day.  We got done with dinner and the kids cleaned up and Heather and I went downstairs and relaxed for a little while.  I told Heather about my dilemma with my Mandalorian backpack.  I had plans for my pack, but they’ve been thwarted in a couple of different ways.  First, I was supposed to have my half inch sintra by Monday, but it was on back order and I won’t have it till Friday, and I’m not sure I’ll have time to work on the pack then.  Then, I have now begun to realize that I can’t build a typical pack.  Instead I’m going to have to find a frame for the pack, which means I’ll have to try and find a frame pack and rip it off, which will be overly expensive, or I’ll have to try and find a backpack from on the Internet and I’m not having good luck with that on the Internet right now.  I’m basically stuck at a stalemate.  I wish I could have worked on it over this week, but it just doesn’t seem to be happening.

We watched our usual T.V. shows tonight and then retired to bed.  Tomorrow was going to be another long day as I had a lot to do in very little time.  Man, it seems like things are happening exactly as I said they would.  Basically, I need a vacation from my vacation!

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 1 of Chapter 6 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 6 (Part 1): FROM THE PRIVATE JOURNALS OF MACE WINDU:  The air in the bunker is the coolest I’ve felt since landing on this rock.  The bunker isn’g much of a bunker at all.  It’s more along the lines of a rock that got drilled out with a door thrown in front.  It’s clear it wasn’t meant to be a combat position.  It looks more like a position to hang out in and wait for reinforcements to arrrive.  The darkness is too deep here, preventing me from meditating.  Besh and Cahlk lay behind me, motionless in thantazine suspension.  I can sense they are alive through The Forc, but know that they can only survive like this for a week or more.  My only job is to make sure they are kept safe.  I have the Thunderbolt resting on it’s bipod by the doorway, Chalk’s sacred weapon whcih she maintains with continued vigilence.  I have little to do other than record this journal and reflect on my argument with Nick…..

Leave a Reply

