‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 5: Blood Fever (Part 10)

Sunday.  Heather was out of town this morning and I had company and I stayed up late last night to talk.  So, Austin and I did not go to church this morning.  There were other reasons we didn’t go, but I can’t put my head on it.  I just think that my wife and I are unfulfilled by our church.  I don’t like the idea of church hopping, but for some reason, I have the feeling that God is trying to tell me to go seek out another church.  I can’t imagine why or how and I have been a Presbyterian my entire life, but I may need to rethink what religion I am and what church I’m attending.  Now, I’m not talking about making a drastic change like going to Muslim (come on, you all know me better than that!), but I’m thinking that I may have to look into churches closer to our home like the United Methodist church or the Church of the Nazarene.  Part of what is driving this concept is the price of gas as well.  Heather and I aren’t sure we can keep driving to the other side of the city with gas prices the way they are either.  Okay, I’m done ranting.

So, we didn’t go to church this morning and Charles and Mary, and myself, we all slept in.  Austin got up as early as he always does, but was nice and sat in his room and read for a little while.  We all got up and I took a shower and then so did Charles and Mary and then we headed to Barnes and Nobles together to have our FanForce meeting.

At the meeting we discussed all the events that have been going on.  We voted on a new leader for the group to help until our one friend can get his personal life back into a state where he thinks he can lead us again.  We also voted on a second in command and a treasurer.  We had a decent meeting and talked about a whole bunch of things that needed to discussed.  Everything from setting up a checking account for the group to what events we could potentially do in the area in the future.  I hate to put it this way, but we all really do get along well together and I feel that I have found the first set of friends that I can be myself around.  It’s nice.  Our meeting went so well, that many people asked if they could come over to my house after the meeting and I called Heather and made sure she was okay with it, she was, so we took the meeting to my house.

We all headed back to my place and ordered some pizza and wings.  We had a good time just hanging out and I had a chance to play a commercial for everyone that I created for the next Mando’ade podcast of the Mandalorian Mercs.  We had a good old time watching T.V. and talking and then Charles and myself got working on my satellite dish idea for my backpack.  I showed Charles all my bits and I have to say that he is a brilliant mind when it comes to working with this stuff.  He really knows his electrical engineering (so much so, I think he may actually give my dad a run for his money).  He found a motor off of my wife’s old hair dryer and was able to use that as the motor in order to rotate the satellite dish that Ian had given to me earlier (which is just a colander).  Then, we tried to attach the sattelite dish but ran out of time.  We didn’t get to Lowe’s in time.  Amongst all of this, we watched some Jeff Dunham, the ladies all hung out upstairs and had a good time talking.  Also, Dan showed me a new camera he got and told me he has a nice five megapixel camera to donate to me as well.  So, I got a new digital camera today and Dan had another extra MP3 player he donated to me.  It was just a great day all around and it was fun to just hang out with my buds!  After a while, everyone kind of fizzled out and Charles, Mary, my wife, and me all sat down and watched some T.V.  We watched Family Guy and they made a reference to an online video tonight that I found and I wish I had never seen.  I won’t tell you what it was, but I will say that it is completely gross!  Anyway, we talked for a while and then Heather and I went to bed.  It was a long, but very fun day!

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 10 of Chapter 5 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 5 (Part 10):  Nick worried about Besh and Chalk as the Fever Wasp larvae were now going to start attacking their brains and spinal chords as well.  They had about two days before convulsions and four days before they died of the infections.  Mace asked Nick what he had in mind and Nick said nothing as he already considered the two fo them dead as well.  Nick explained that their trying to get to a  lor pelek that travels with Depa before Besh and Chalk start to convulse.   If they can, then they may be able to save them.  Mace remembered from his reading that a lor pelek was a jungle master or Shaman of sorts that could do all sorts of voodoo, good or bad.  Then it dawned on Mace, and he uttered the name of Kal Vastor and Nick asked him how he knew.  Mace changed the conversationand asked how long it would take to get there.  Nick said that with grassers and akks it would take them two days, but he wasn’t sure how long it would take by foot…..

Leave a Reply

