‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 5: Blood Fever (Part 7)

Thursday.  A half day at school, but somehow things seem daunting even for a half day at school.  I got up this morning and got the kids motivated for the day.  I went and took a shower while my kids got themselves together and made lunches for everyone for their school day.  I looked at the calendar and reminded myself that I only have two more days before vacation.  I had to remind myself of that simply because I wanted to remember that I will get a break from work soon.  It may not be much of a break, but at least it’s a little bit of a break.  We all managed to get out the door on time and I headed off  to work and the kids headed off to school on time.

I got to school and set things up for giving some finals this morning.  We decided to run a period one through four schedule today which actually only gave me two classes to have to give final exams to.  It made it nice to set things up today and it also helped me get some things cleaned up in my room.  It also gave me a moment to go out onto the stage and start working on some construction that needed to get done before the play.  I gave my finals to the two classes and things went fairly smooth.  I will say that it’s going to make Friday a rough day because this means that several of my classes will be taking their finals tomorrow and we’re running an hour delay schedule for an assembly.  I guess I just need to get used to this idea that my days will just not be a full day.  I got done with the two classes I was teaching today and got things ready for this afternoon.  We still had play rehearsal this afternoon even though it was only a half day.  So I set up the microphones and got things ready for later.  I managed to get ahold of the tech from the High School and he’s letting us borrow some wireless mics from them that I have to go pick up this afternoon.  I also had Jim coming over to fill out some paperwork for SMASH with me here in my room.  I also had the students from tech club in my room that didn’t want to go home because we have practice at three-thirty and they can’t go home and come back.  So, when Jim came over to talk to me, I asked him to watch my students and I headed over to the High School to pick up the mics and came back.  I found Jim talking to our band teacher here about Winter Guard and we had an interesting discussion on the state of marching bands today.  We finished with our conversation and it was time to set up for the rehearsal.

Tech rehearsal went really well tonight, but I think a lot of that had to do with the simple fact that we had plenty of time to set up for rehearsal.  It also helped that I was able to get all the walkie talkies to work tonight.  We got done with rehearsal and I went home fairly late tonight.  When I got home, I had some leftovers for dinner and then went downstairs and crashed watching my usual Thursday night T.V. shows, “Survivor”, and “C.S.I.”.  After that, Heather and I went to bed together.  Even though it was only a half a day with students, it was still a long day for me.


Chapter 5 (Part 7):  Mace lowered his head as his heartbeat slowed.  He looked back behind him at the mess of dead akk dogs, grassers, and dead or wounded.  Chalk, Besh, and Lesh were back a ways as he flashed back to his vision this morning and Nick grabbed his attention and told him to calm down.  Chalk examined her extremely damaged grasser and it made one last groan as hse pulled out her pistol and shot it to put it out of it’s pain and misery.  Besh and Les were still by the akk they dodged behind, that was now a dead corpse.  Chalk got to the brothers before Nick and Mace and she turned pale at the sight of what she saw.  Besh was hugging his knees, seated on the ground with all sorts of used medical supplies scattered all around.  Lesh was laying on the ground having convulsions.  Mace thought it was a head wound, and as he went to hlep, Chalk told him to leave the medpac scanner alone as he was already dead.  He pulled up the scanner and read the display anyway.  Good news, Lesh wasn’t dead.  Bad news, he was infected….

Leave a Reply

