‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 5: Blood Fever (Part 5)

Tuesday and I did not want to get out of bed this morning.  I just wanted to sleep in quite honestly, but Austin actually came into our bedroom and coaxed me out of coming out of bed.  I got the rest of the kids going for the morning and I went and took my shower.  The kids were really good about getting themselves going for the day today and I told them that I really appreciate that.  I cannot wait for the vacation next week because I’m so going to need that vacation to make sure that I can take some time for myself and not have to worry about anything or anyone else.  Well, anyway, it was time for me to get going for my work day and the kids started to get ready for school.  I left for work, the kids left for school and it was time to be off to the races.
My school day was easy enough.  My students were all doing a review Music Jeopardy game that was going to get them ready for their final exams which start tomorrow.  I spent some time today getting things ready for the final, but there really wasn’t much to my work day.  I just am not looking forward to starting the finals just because of the fact that students complain about taking them and I give them and get little to no help giving them.  But, it’s there to make sure my kids are actually learning something in my class.  I see them as a valuable tool, but I just wish the complaints about finals would stop.  As I say to my students, if they think they have a lot of tests now, wait till they get into high school and college!
I got done with my day and then managed to get my tech crew together for our first full rehearsal today.  We tried to run all of the equipment at once.  We didn’t do too bad considering that we were working with a bunch of walkie talkies that weren’t working too well together.  We got done with rehearsal and we got out a little late today because the first day never goes as smooth as the rest.  I came home and Heather and I ate dinner with the kids quick and then they cleaned up dinner and went to bed.  We helped them clean up dinner and then went downstairs and crashed for the evening.  It was quite the day and night.  I can’t believe that there is only three days till spring break.  In some ways I can’t wait for it, and in other ways I can’t believe how fast this year has been going by.
Okay, so let’s talk about Part 5 of Chapter 5 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint:  A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..


Chapter 5 (Part 5):  Instead of dodging, Mace stopped Galthra and decided to give them a taste of Vaapad.  Mace turned on both his own lightsaber and Depa’s as well.  Mace moved so fast that it caught even the gunners on the ships unawares.  Mace managed to deflect two shots at each of the two damaged gunships, knocking them off target locking capabilities; and one right at the front transparisteel viewport of the thrid gunship knocking in a gigantic hole.  Then he pulled out the over-under from around his shoulder and shot a grenade into the cockpit.  He was surprised to find it wasn’t a Nytinite grenade, but thought to himself that it was the same difference as it burst out white goo.  The goo glued all the members in place and they could do nothing as the gunship flew off the cliff and into the face of the ridge.  As he grabbed his two lightsabers to prepare for the onslaught brought on by the other two gunships, he frowned as he noted that they were moving away from the scene.  He felt distressed, unhappy, uncomfortable, basically unsatisfying……

Leave a Reply

