‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 5: Blood Fever (Part 4)

Monday.  Beginning of the week and I feel all of a sudden like I didn’t have a restful weekend at all.  However, looking back on my weekend, I really never had a moment to rest until last night.  I guess that’s my lot in life when it comes to being a Star Wars costumer.  And I’m not even a hard time costumer like some I know.  I got up this morning and had a feeling that I just didn’t want to get up.  I don’t know why I say that, but I just feel that I needed more rest somehow.  I got up and got the kids up and while I got ready for work, they made lunches for everyone, including me.  It was pretty silent this morning in the house which isn’t typical.  Usually Austin is the one who is so talkative and energetic, but I think he was tired from the weekend as well.  Tara and Ruth were very tired too, I could just tell they were.  We all managed to get out the door on time and I headed off to work and school.

This was pressure time at work.  I had to try to get everyone on the same page for the finals that are starting in my class on Wednesday.  I also managed to find out today that not only do I have a half day on Thursday, but that we are having an assembly on Friday and we’re going to run the one-hour delay schedule.  So, all of a sudden, I find myself having only one full day to actually give my finals in some classes.  I really hate having to plan last minute.  It changed how I was going to have to look at my schedule for the rest of the week.  I managed to get through my school day with my students and didn’t feel too pressured, but got done what needed to get done.  I was exhausted by the end of the day, but there was much more that needed to be accomplished.

I finished teaching today and it was time to get right to tech rehearsal for the musical at my school.  I was able to start pulling out all the equipment with my students today and we were able to try and work with all of the sound and lighting equipment.  It was nice to at least try and get to everything and make sure all the equipment still works the way we want them to.  We had a decent rehearsal today and things are starting to look up for the set on stage.  We got done with rehearsal and raced home to eat dinner.  We got done with dinner and then I rushed off to Scouts with Austin.  We had an okay Scout meeting tonight.  We talked a little more about car maintenance and showed the boys in our unit how to change a tire on a car and how to maintain their bikes at home, by oiling their chains and adjusting their seats.

We got done with Scouts and went home.  Austin helped finish dishes from dinner and then headed off to bed with the rest of he kids.  Heather and I sat down and watched our usual gambit of Monday night shows, including:  “Big Bang Theory”, “How I Met Your Mother”, “Two and a Half Men”, “C.S.I:  Miami”, among others.  We went to bed after that.
Okay, so let’s talk about Part 4 of Chapter 5 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..


Chapter 5 (Part 4):  The missile locked onto Mace and the akk dog and the second it was launched, the akk dog and Mace made a leap acrossed the crevace they were standing over.  As the missile got closer, Mace used The Force to nudge the missile just past him and his new found animal friend into the oncoming lead gunship.  It took the missile right up the nose of the gunship.  Teh pilot tried to maintain control of the mess of smoke and metal his gunship had become.  The third gunship did all it could to reverse thrusters and repulsors so as to not run into the back side of the first gunship.  Mace raced with Galthra at the hulk of Chalk’s grasser, picked up the Thunderbolt and aimed it at the thrid gunship now.   He fired several parting shots and turned backwards on Galthra’s backat the gunships.  Although it didn’t penetrate the armor, it mad an unsightly sound!  The third gunship fired a pair of missiles at the two, but Galthra reacted so quick, they didn’t even come close.  Then Mace felt a disturbance in The Force as all three ships were preparing to fire their side-mounted laser turrets which had already locked onto him…..

Leave a Reply

