‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 4: The Summertime War (Part 14)

Thursday and most people would be excited that the week is almost over.  For me, it just brings me closer to a day that won’t end till late, and that’s Friday.  Today I was doing all sorts of things to get myself ready for tomorrow which was going to be mass chaos.  I got up this morning and the kids and I got ready for work and for school.  Part of my getting ready for work included getting ready for tomorrow.  That meant that I had to pack my bags for Rochester for one day.  While I was doing this, the kids continued to help by helping me pack up some things around the living room and dining room that needed to be taken care of before I took off to work.  We ate some breakfast together and then the kids were off to school and I was off to work.

School was okay today.  It started off slow today as over half my first period was out on a field trip, so I didn’t teach a lesson to those students and for the rest of the students I had tests to give them and some last minute preps for tests that may happens next week.  It was a tough day for both the students and myself and somehow, I had to convince myself to make it through the day today.  I got done with school and worked with the tech crew today.  Today was a little more exciting as I finally got the sound system working and we got a chance to get an idea of what the system is capable of.  The kids enjoyed the fact that the sound system seemed a lot more complex than they initially thought it was going to be.  I got done with tech rehearsal and came right home to have dinner with Heather and the kids.  I got home and we all ate dinner right away and then I went downstairs and started to pull my equipment upstairs for the weekend.  Why?  Well, once I leave for school tomorrow, I won’t be home for long after that till I’m in Rochester and getting ready for the event on Saturday.  I finished the work on my backplate and managed to get things packed up this evening which I didn’t think was going to happen, but somehow it did.  On top of that I did manage to get my Two-Week reports filled out for my students to hand out tomorrow.  It was a busy night and I got a lot done in very little time.  The T.V. was on in the background, but I don’t ever remember stopping to actually watch the T.V.
Okay, enough of that, let’s talk about Part 14 of Chapter 4 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..


Chapter 4 (Part 14):  It was not day again and the akks gave a warning of multiple gunships approaching.  Nick’s nerves were now permeating Mace’s mind through The Force.  He worried as they were coming to an open area of the jungle and they would be exposed to the gunship fire.  Suddenly, Nick turned aorund his grasser and said Lesh was in trouble and Mace couldn’t help but remember the vision he had this morning.  Mace stood in his saddle and used The Force to balance himself so he could look forward as they moved.  As they turned the corner, they found Lesh down with the akk dog licking his face.  Besh leaped off his grasser to his brother’s side as Nick shouted at Lesh to get up so they could go on.  Then Mace sensed a shif in anxiety as gunships passed and Nick said they may not have seen them, but Mace confirmed they were spotted.  However, instead of swooping by, they hovered over top of their position.  Nick asked Mace if he’s heard of the expression, “we’re cooked”.  As he said this, the gunship began to torch the forest around them.  Nick said this phrase may become literal.

Leave a Reply

