‘Star wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 4: The Summertime War (Part 13)

Wednesday.  Middle of the week and I have to say that I’m not looking forward to the mass chaos of the end of the week, although I’m really looking forward to the weekend.  There’s something about meeting my first Star Wars author that has me a little excited.  I’m hoping to get an interview with Timothy Zahn for my podcast, but if I don’t, I don’t.  We’ll have to see.  Anyway, I got up this morning and the kids were better about getting themselves together for school.  Ruth and Austin both said this morning that they can’t wait for Spring Break in two weeks and I hate to say it, but I really do concur with them in many ways.  I just feel like this whole year has been really tough on myself and the kids.  We’ll have to see how it all pans out by summer time, but the stress level on me and my wife seems to be building to a boiling point.  I have to say that either I’m going to learn to just cope with it all or I’m going to have a heart attack and well, that would be the end of this blog now wouldn’t it!

I got the kids ready and they headed off to school and I headed off to work.  It was an interesting day at work.  It was some last chances to get some things done with my students, but unfortunately because of odd schedules all my classes are in different places going into this last week of work.  That makes it hard to make sure everyone is ready for the final exam because each class is in a different place.  Worse yet, I don’t think my seventh period is going to be able to finish their music videos and my nineth period won’t be able to finish their podcast projects simply because we’ve run out of time this quarter.  I feel bad, but that’s kind of the way the cookie crumbles I guess.  I know it’s not fair, but our schedules worked out that way.  I got done with my school day and went right into tech rehearsal and we started to set up the sound system today.  I have come to the realization that I need help from the High School tech guy and so I decided that I’m going to need to borrow some equipment from him.  I’ll have to see tomorrow if that’s going to be too much of an issue.  We’ll have to see.  I got done getting as much done as we could with the tech club and then I raced off to SMASH rehearsal.

I got into SMASH and Jim was sitting off the edge of the front of the stage telling me he wasn’t feeling well and saying that he is completely run down.  I laughed and told him it’s exactly what I’ve had over the past two weeks.  I do find myself gaining on the energy level, but I’m not one-hundred percent yet.  I helped Jim run the rest of the rehearsal, but we had a very relaxed rehearsal and I explained to Jim that I can’t keep doing tech rehearsals followed up immediately by SMASH rehearsals, so I asked him to give me until after the break to rejoin the group.  He agreed and said it was probably time to give the kids some time off.  We told the kids we wouldn’t have SMASH rehearsal again until May.  I got done with rehearsal and called Heather on my way home and told her I was on my way.  She explained where dinner was in the house and I got home and heated up dinner while she took the girls to Girl Scouts.  She got home and we spent some time together talking about our day in the basement.  I got some more grading of papers done and after Heather went and picked up the girls, we watched our usual T.V. shows and went to bed.  I also scrambled to get some last minute work done on my Mandalorian costume before this weekend.  I needed to tweak some things on my new backplate among other things.  It was a long day and tomorrow didn’t promise to be any better.
Okay, so let’s talk about Part 13 of Chapter 4 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoing, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..


Chapter 4 (Part 13):  It was nighttime agian and Mace had more nightmares, but when he aoke, he sensed he wasn’t alone.  It was Lesh and he asked Mace why he was here.  He wanted to know if he was attempting to take Depa back with him as Depa had already predicted.  Mace suggested they talk about it in the morning, but then he realized Lesh had a weapon in his hand and he had Mace’s feet wrapped up under his legs in his bed roll.  Not a good fighting position should the situation call for it.  Mace realized that his mental tricks were having no effect on Lesh either.  Lesh told Mace that Kar would teach him and that he knows nothing.  Mace pondered if he meant Kar Vastor, a squad leader that was mentioned in many of Depa’s earlier reports.  Lesh said that Mace may think he knows her, but he may not live long enough to find out.  Mace decided he needed to defend himself.  He turned on his purple blade and as it lit up Lesh’s face, he realized that Lesh was crying as he was talking.  Mace gave him a towel and told him he would talk to Lesh in the morning when he sobered up fro his thyssel bark high.  He then left and Mace decided to meditate.  It wasn’t sleep but a good trade for bad dreams.  In the morning Mace asked Lesh about the previous night and he claimed he did not remember.  Suddenly, Mace was struck with a vision through The Force and he knew Lesh would be dead before the next day……

Leave a Reply

