‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 4: The Summertime War (Part 8)

Friday.  By the time my day ended today, I was in total exhaustion, and my weekend has only just begun!  I got up this morning and got the kids going for the day.  It was interesting as they were as groggy as I was and I think they’re already tired too.  I think what’s making me more tired is this cold that I have that I’m trying to battle with.  It’s not helping my situation with sleep and energy.  One thing that helped me a little today was my morning.  I got a phone call around six-thirty this morning from the school to let me know that we were on a two-hour delay.  So, I got a chance to actually sleep in a little.  I went out to the T.V. and checked and the kids had a two-hour delay as well, which helped my morning out.  We all got up an hour later than we normally do and that was okay because it still gave us an extra hour to get going for the day.  We took our time this morning and goofed around a little and were able to watch most of Dr.Phil before the kids even left for school

I got to school this morning and found out we were running our usual period one through four schedule this morning. That was cool because that meant I had prep periods the morning before and after lunch.  So, I was done editing my podcast, so I made sure I set everything up to have my podcast published and let my laptop go while I worked on some things around my room.  We went out for lunch today and I just let my laptop keep working and by the time we got done with lunch and came back, the next episode of “The Jedi Council Speaks” was officially published onto my laptop.  Just in time for my busy weekend considering I won’t have a moment to work on it all weekend long.  I got done with my school day and it was time to go to work on the stage of my school.

I started to start to set up the set for the musical for our school tonight.  It went up reasonably well and fairly easy.  It was especially hard on our director because all the pieces that we were putting up were written on by her father and her father had passed away last year and it brought on some sad memories and I knew our director was doing all she could to hold back the emotions of the moment.  We worked on it for quite some time, but managed to get it up.  While I was working, I got a text from my buddy Dan in the Binghamton FanForce group and he works at Target and he let me know that the Aayla Secura Jedi Starfighter had come in.  The reason it was so important was because Tara is a HUGE Aayla Secura fan (ever since she played the role in my “Jedi Babies” show) and I wanted to make sure to get her one since it’s a Target exclusive.  So, I called Heather and asked her to make a stop there sometime tonight.  She was at home taking down some studs and some electrical in our house getting ready for our massive basement stair move this weekend.  It will be a lot of work and it will require even more work when we’re done.  I also found out from Heather in the phone conversation that my father in-law’s daughter’s boyfriend won’t be able to make it, which means we’ll have to cut back on our expectations for tomorrow and may not get all the work done.  That’s okay, as we may need time between projects anyway.

I got done with the set build and then grabbed my dinner (that my wife dropped off – Taco Bell) and headed off to SMASH at MacArthur elementary school.  When I got there (a little late) I found out from Jim that they didn’t set up the gym at all and the janitors weren’t even aware that we were going to be there.  We had some people show up, but not a lot!  I think we had an audience of about thirty to forty people.  I managed to eat a little dinner before we began, but I didn’t get much to eat.  We got done with our performance and I called Heather and found out she was at Target as we were speaking.  I told her I would meet her at home and I headed home and had some dinner at eight-thirty.  I got done and did some quick things downstairs and helped Heather move some things around for tomorrow’s big project.  It’s going to be a long day tomorrow!
Okay, let’s talk about Part 8 of Chapter 4 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..


Chapter 4 (Part 8):  Nick had told him that non one sleeps well in these woods and that he’ll get used to it.  They used akk dogs to communicate and spread out their group for safety.  The jungle was full of dangerous creatures, but the most pesky were the insects that left welts all over Mace’s body which he used The Force to try and maintain control over.  The Korunnai themselves had learned to use plants to treat some of these ailments themselves.  They would have used the grasser roads, but militia gunships made them extremely risky.  The akks dogs constantly reminded them of the passing ships as they often reacted to the sound of the overpassing repulsorlifts.  Mace had seen enough of them to now know they are simply retrofitted Seinar Turbostorms.  Each ship carried it’s own surgical field generator to keep the fungi from eating the metal on the ship.  Mace noted that the grasser roads were a few years old by now and Nick said that when the Balawai can’t find them, and they get completely bored, they shoot the grasser herds.  Then it dawned on Mace that this meant their war started before the Republic Civil War and Nick told him their war has been going on since before he was born.  This was Mace’s introduction to the Summertime War……

Leave a Reply

