‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 4: The Summertime War (Part 6)

Okay, it’s Wednesday and the middle of the week.  I have to say that I’m amazed at how much work I have already gotten done this week.  I got up this morning in a little bit of a better mood than I did yesterday as I was already feeling a little better than I was yesterday.  The kids got ready for school and I got ready for work and I have to say that everything went pretty smooth.  My house looks like a disaster zone right now and I know it’s only going to get worse from this point on in this month and probably into the next month.  We are planning on moving the stairs into the basement in my house and I have to say that it will make my house very nice and accessible.  But, on the flip side of that, there is a lot of work that needs to be done to make that happen.  Right now, we have four walls torn out of our house and there are others that need to be torn out as well.  Eventually it will all be fixed, but that seems so far off, I can’t even begin to explain what that feels like.

Anyway, I got the kids off to school and I got off to work.  My work day wasn’t that bad with my students.  I introduced the new song to my eighth grade students and they seemed to accept their second keyboard song with a little bit of vigor which tells me they were ready for it.  My sixth graders did okay on their recorders but were again a little obnoxious at times.   My seventh graders did okay adding some new scales into their repertoire.  Finals should be okay for most of these students.  I got done with classes today and hung out at school and did some editing of my podcast before I had to get off to SMASH tonight.  I knew I would need to be there on time, so I made sure I packed everything up and got out the door on time.

I got done and got out the door and got right over to SMASH.  I found out that Jim’s day wasn’t going any better than my own and he found out that one of the SMASH members may not be able to make the concert on Friday.  We sat down and came up with a back up plan and then found out the member will be able to make Friday.  We also found out that we had to stop early and Jim said we might as well not have practice, and pretty much cancelled practice for tonight.  So, that was actually good news for me as I got to go home and get some work done.  Jim and I did sit around and talk for a little while and discussed what was going on with the Vestal Marching Band as we haven’t been told anything yet.  We have been able to piece together that the director that we worked for is no longer the director at Vestal anymore, which means we will probably not be asked as staff members.

We got done and I headed home and did some last portions of the recording that I needed to get done for my next podcast.  Now there is MASSIVE amounts of editing that need to be finished.  I got done recording and ate dinner on the fly, so I started to get into the massive editing phase.  It took me most of the night and tomorrow I’ll have to work on it as well.  If I have any hope of getting this podcast out on time, I will have to make sure it’s done by Friday, as I know I won’t have any time this weekend to finish any of it up.
Okay, let’s talk about Part 6 of Chapter 4 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover….


Chapter 4 (Part 6):  Their water came from funnel plants that would trap rain water.  Often after they ate, Lesh would offer some soft thyssel bark for all to partake, but Mace and Nick would always refuse. This raw bark would have an intoxicating drug effect.  Mace learned about the Korunnai and the ULF in these times in camp.  Nick led this group , but not by rank but by wit.  Mace noted that there didn’t seem to be any ranks.  Nick claimed his mission in life was to be a mercenary and was in this war only for the money.  Nick tried to pretend as though he didn’t care, but Mace knew he cared all too much!  Lesh and Besh were involved over sheer hatred as Besh had been kidnapped earlier in his life and had some of his fingers removed during this time,, by the Balawai.  The reason Besh never spoke because the Balawai had cut out his tongue.  He communicated using hand signals and The Force to represent his feelings.  Chalk had joined the ULF for even other reasons.  She had been molested as a child but found some members of the ghosh and they hunted down her attackers and gave the the five militia men the “jungle justice”.  Jungle justice consisted of releasing the men in the middle of the jungle, naked, and without anything.  Chalk said she fights so that this won’t happen to other girls.  Mace told her he was impressed with how she moved through the jungle and masked her tracks.  Mace told her that it was an interesting way to use The Force.  He asked her if she was always able to do this, but in the back of his mind, Mace wondered if Depa had taught her.  Chalk said that we don’t use pelekotan (The Force), but pelekotan uses you.  Mace recalled that pelekotan was a literal translation to jungle mind as he replayed what Depa said about being the darkness in the jungle in his mind……

Leave a Reply

