‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 4: The Summertime War (Part 5)

Tuesday, the day after break.  I woke up this morning and still felt horrible!  I was not looking forward to this day of work with the kids.  I was hacking and coughing all morning long and even Ruth suggested I not go to work today and I have to say I was tempted to not go to work, but I decided I really needed to go to work and get things done.  Any teacher will tell you that being out of work creates more work than if you were actually there.  So, I got up and got the kids up and pretty much hacked up a lung in the shower.  The kids helped me get things together for school and I have to say I was not looking forward to the rest of this week.  I had a lot of things to do and very little time under which to get them done.  I got myself going for the day and got myself into school for the first day of the week.

I asked my students to do some music theory work today and you would have thought that I asked them for a left lung or something.  It wasn’t easy at all and I have to say that they really were making me stressed out about not wanting to work.  I wished they would just stop fighting me on all of this and would just do the work I asked.  But, then again, I may be living in a dream world if that’s where I’m living.  I fought with my students most of the day today, but did manage to get quite a bit of work done with them.  For most of my students it was a day to get a lot of make-up work done before we moved on with our final push before the finals two weeks from now.

I got done with my day and headed home and told Heather I had a TON of work to do for my podcast and she was very understanding considering it all.  She let me go downstairs and work right away and she decided to do a pulled pork dinner using the left over pork from our pork roast from Easter.  I have to say, that was an awesome dinner and it tasted great!  We got done with dinner and the kids took care of the dishes while I worked on podcasting and Heather worked on sewing.  The good news is that I’m almost done with the recording side of the podcast and may be looking at very little to get done for the show.  I got done with most of my work and Heather and I intermittently talked with each other while we watched T.V. and worked on our projects (me podcasting and her sewing).  We went to bed a little early again as I was still exhausted from this cold/flu that I have now.  I wish I weren’t so rundown all the time.  It’s really getting old!
Okay, let’s talk about Part 5 of Chapter 4 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..


Chapter 4 (Part 5):  They made a cold camp each night as the akk dogs provided protection and Nick told Mace that if they make a fire, they’re visible from space and the Balawai could drop a DOKAW on you.  DOKAWs, or De-Orbiting Kinetic Anti-emplacement Weapons were sent into orbit and could easily act as an orbiting missile to attack any visible encampment from space.  The Korunnai had learned to live without fire.  The vines managed to glow a phoshorescent glow that seemed to light up the night anyway.  Mace used a wallet tent while the Korunnai used bed rolls and the grassers slept standing up.  They ate food stolen from their dead assailants.  When that ran out, they ate smoked grasser meat and cheese made from raw grasser milk…..

Leave a Reply

