‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 4: The Summertime War (Part 3)

Happy Easter everyone!  I got up this morning to my son yelling that the Easter Bunny had come over night.  I got up and went out to the dining room and again felt like total crap!  I had little to no voice and I was going to have to play in church in an hour or so.  The kids all quickly opened their stuff and then we got ready for church for the day.  I managed to have Ruth take my trumpets out to the car so I could make sure I didn’t forget them for church today.  We all got dressed in our Sunday best and headed off to church.  We got going early today as the church was hosting breakfast at church and we’ve done it in years past and it was a nice way to start the day.

We got to church and they had all sorts of cool things for breakfast.  Pancakes, eggs, bacon, sausage, the works!  It was a great way to start the day even though I wasn’t feeling the best right now.  We got done with breakfast and the kids found a bunny that Pastor Peak was going to use in church for the children’s chat.  So, they played with the bunny while I went upstairs and worked with the choir on trumpet.  I was so mad at the guy who wrote the trumpet parts.  First off, the parts were pretty lame, then to make matters worse, he transposed the parts wrong and the measure numbers didn’t line up with the piece.  It never occurred to me to check on either of these as I had trusted the guy who wrote the piece.  I was even more ticked off at the conductor of the church choir when he cut some of my parts out because I couldn’t sight transpose quick enough.  Jerk!  I would love to see him sight transpose that quick!  Anyway, I managed to work my way through the church service and managed to make the church service a more valuable experience.  At least I hope I did.  I had some people thank me at the end of the service.  I figure that as long as the audience enjoys it, then it’s worth while.

We got home and the kids continued to open the few gifts they had and then they asked if they could play outside.  Heather said sure and she took a nap upstairs while I went downstairs and took a nap.  I did manage to wake up around two hours later and write some more notes for my podcast, but then I ended up having to stop for a while because I was getting dizzy.  I’m really mad today.  Most of my vacation has been destroyed because of this cold I have gotten.  See, I knew it would happen.  I now need a vacation from my vacation.  The day wound down and I couldn’t believe how much time I spent sleeping today.  This cold has taken so much out of me, I can’t believe how much energy I’ve lost over the course of this weekend.  It got to be eight o’clock this evening and Heather and I watched “The Simpsons” and “Family Guy” and then we watched the “John Adams” special on HBO, which I have to say I am really getting into now, and then we went to bed.  I was exhausted and I was hoping I could get some things done tomorrow, but if this cold is as bad as it was today, that may not be possible.
Okay, let’s talk about Part 3 of Chapter 4 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..


Chapter 4 (Part 3):  From The Private Journals of Mace Windu:  I had come to Nar Shadaa to track down some smugglers who were distributing attack akk dogs to the Kedlar terrorists of Lannik.  Depa followed me believing I would need her help.  It’s a good thing he did because it all ended with us against mutated akks in front of Circus Horrificus patrons.  As I rememberd, I found myself in tears.  That day on Nar Shadaa, she showed me an understanding of Vaapad I had never seen.  It’s been some time now, as she became a Jedi Knight, then a Master, then a member of the Council.  But for one day we were a Master and an Apprentice using the Vaapad training at it’s highest.  On that day we were perfect, working together as one.  Have we won anything or lost everything?  Why did our generation have to be drawn into a Republic Civil War?…..

Leave a Reply

