‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 3: Jungle to Jungle (Part 9)

Okay, it’s Wednesday and I have to say I was more nervous about today than I have been in the educational field in a long time.  I will explain what I mean in a moment.  Let me first talk about my morning.  I got the kids up this morning and my own children were bouncing off the walls.  They couldn’t wait for Easter break and neither could I.  For some reason, I just couldn’t wait to have a few days’ break from all of the kids at my school.  On top of that, I had a lot of things I needed to get done this coming weekend in order to get myself prepared for all the construction work that is going to happen at my house next weekend.  It sounds so weird, but I have a feeling I’ll need a vacation from my vacation later on.  You’ll probably all know what I mean in a little while.  Anyway, I got things going for my own children today and then they headed off to school and I went off to work.

We did recording with my first period class and I have to say that they are almost done with their music videos and they are looking pretty good.  We played around with the idea of the lights today and discovered that the natural lighting is sometimes better than using the shop lights.  We’ll have to see if this is always true.  After that I had to deal with an issue of a student who went missing from first period and then I had to rush back to my room and rush to get things set up for my lesson that was going to be observed.  I knew it was going to be an interesting period considering it was one of my worst classes and it was the day before break.  I knew this wasn’t a smart idea before I even began.  My department chair showed up just as my class was beginning.  It started out okay, but those two students that always misbehave were pushing all my buttons today during class.  They interrupted me several times, they tried to push the lesson off-topic and I had to bring us back on topic.  They tried to act like I wasn’t there.  They tried to talk over other students reading.  I could go on, but it only got worse.  Worse yet, they ended up sharpening their pencils six times during the class!!  So, I decided that I needed to use another strategy to show I had control, so I gave them each pens so they didn’t have to sharpen pencils.  I got done with the class and thought it was a complete disaster!

I tried to explain to my department chair all that had happened with this class over the past few weeks and she said I was being too hard on myself and the class went well considering what I was teaching and the fact that it was the day before break.  We spoke a little more before she left and had a nice conversation about SMASH.  It made me feel better knowing she thought I was too hard on myself. The rest of my periods that day went okay.  We went out for lunch today and I really needed to get away just to get things off of my chest about my observation and it’s nice to be able to talk to teachers outside of school and just be myself for a little while.

I got done with school and raced home and had one plan for the rest of the evening.  Get my “Novel Ideas” segment done tonight!  I went downstairs, did some more recording and started to edit and edit and edit.  Heather had a nice dinner prepared upstairs and we went up there and ate some dinner and Heather said she wanted to go out shopping to Wal Mart after dinner.  So, I gave in and we went out to get some things for her.  We weren’t out all night, but enough to distract me from getting the work done I had intended on getting done.  We finished and came home and I edited for a few hours, but I did not get my show done tonight.  I guess there’s always tomorrow.  I’ll have to try and get it done before I go to our miniatures game at Fat Cat Books tomorrow night.  All well, this is how it goes for us.
Okay, let’s talk about Part 9 of Chapter 3 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..


Chapter 3 (Part 9):  As the groundcar dissappeared ove the horizon, Besh and Lesh had already dissappeared into the eerily dark shadow of the forest and Nick and Chalk were waiting at the edge for Mace.  Mace thoguht that it wasn’t too late to turn back.  He knew he could turn around now, but also knew that once he stepped into the woods, there was no way of going back, only through.  But then again, in those woods was Depa.  He thought that in a way, since the battle of Geonosis, an emotional jungle had already grown in around him.  As they entered the jungle, Nick told him to keep up as he doesn’t want to be left behind alone.  Mace asked if he gets lost if there’s a way to find each other, and Nick said if he doesn’t keep up, he won’t live long enough for it to matter.  Mace followed Nick into the woods and didn’t look back.

Leave a Reply

