‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 3: Jungle to Jungle (Part 8)

Tuesday.  I would love to say that today is the day before vacation, but it’s not.  I had a ton of stress put on me today and I had to make a call yesterday that I cannot reveal on this blog (email me if you want to know more).   All I’ll say is that I was caught between a rock and a hard place and I had to make a call that saddened me, but it had to be made and I unfortunately was the one that had to make it.  Anyway, let’s talk about today.  I got up this morning and got the kids ready for school.  It was a much better morning without my kids being distracted with my parents being around in the morning.  As I said before, I love my parents, it’s my kids that can drive me nuts sometimes!  They got themselves off to school and I got off to work.

I got to school and did a bunch of work for things that I will be doing for my classes tomorrow.  Tomorrow is going to be a crazy day and I won’t be able to do the things that I wanted to do because I will be observed by my department chair, so I won’t be able to do Idol with my sixth graders.  So, a little change up needed to be made today.  I finished up my keyboard tests today and I have to say that my one class did really well and my other class didn’t do so well.  It was a little distressing.  But, in some ways I saw it coming.  A lot of it has to do with the erratic schedule we’ve had at school lately.  It’s hard to expect my classes to be in the same spot when they don’t have an equal number of school days.  My sixth graders seemed to do okay with their recorder tests and I have to say they did a great job on them!   My seventh graders were up and down.  The students I expected to do well, did do well and the students I expected to not do so well, did not do so well.  I worked on some things in my classroom and finished organizing things around my desk and also worked on getting my lesson plan set for tomorrow.

I came home tonight and did some more downloading for my class videos and podcasts and I also did a TON of editing on my “Novel Ideas” podcast.  As soon as I got done with some of that, I went back and looked back at my Powerpoint Presentation for tomorrow’s class and did some updates to the presentation so that it had everything that lined up for my lesson that I wrote today.  I got done with all of that and watched some T.V. with Heather this evening.  Somewhere in amongst all of that I did get a chance to go upstairs and eat dinner with the family quick and then we went to bed.  It was quite the night and I have to say that I will be happy when tomorrow is over.  I have so much to do over this vacation, it seems almost unbelievable.
Okay, let’s talk about Part 8 of Chapter 3 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..


Chapter 3 (Part 8):  Nick explained that Phlo has been playing a game for quite a few years now.  He explains that she turns the person over to the “team”, they report an accident and your body is never recovered.  Meanwhile, you are being tortured somewhere in Gevarno and Phlo retires to a resort in the Confederacy of Independent Systems.  Mace asked what evidence Nick has, but Nick pointed out that this is not a court, but a war.  Mace said they murdered her, but Nick referred to it as slipping off your roaster.  Nick explained they had been waiting for Mace at the spaceport for days, but missed him because of some militia troubles.  He said by the time they picked him back up, he was involved in a full fight in Pelek Baw.  Mace asked why they didn’t warn him, and Nick said it would have been revealed themselves to Phlo and the Balawai.  Nick said he might not have believed him now.  Nick said he’s used to that odl commentary.  Nick explained that a war is like the jungle.  Sometimes you can see your enemy before you strike ad sometimes you strike pre-emptively thinking it’s an enemy and it’s a friend.  Mace said that’s why the Jedi use The Force.  But Nick points out that he currently is trusting people that are believed to be murderers by the local government.  Nick smiled at Mace again and said welcome to Haruun Kal…..

Leave a Reply

