‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 3 (Part 7)

Monday.  Now, I have to start out by saying here that I love my parents.  But unfortunately, this morning, they ended up being a distraction to my own kids.  It started off as innocent as could be.  I got myself ready for school and the kids got themselves ready for school.  But they started to overlook the little things, like lunches for everyone, which they didn’t make last night.  Or my favorite, Ruth forgot her clarinet for school today and blamed grandma and grandpa this morning, but I told her that her instrument was her responsibility.  She wasn’t happy with my response, but that’s the way it is.  I got out the door a little later than I wanted to, but somehow I expected that to happen.

My kids at school had an interesting day with me today.  It was what I like to refer to as controlled chaos.  These kids want a vacation and they want it to start today.  I have to admit, I need a vacation from my idea of a vacation.  I was barely able to get half the lessons done I wanted to get done today.  I started with keyboard tests with my eighth graders and my one class is way ahead and the other is way behind.  I have recorder tests set up with my sixth graders tomorrow and something tells me they could be fairly interesting.  My seventh graders have a keyboard test tomorrow as well.  It was quite the filled day with things to get done.  I got done with school and came home and met Heather.

I talked with her a little bit and then locked myself in the basement again to try and get my next “Novel Ideas” show done.  I’m almost finished.  I managed to finish recording the last segment tonight.  Heather made a dinner that I would take downstairs with me tonight and I ate downstairs and finished my podcast show.  Now I just need to edit and get it on the net.  Sounds simple, but it will involve a TON of time.  Oh, and by the way, by the time I get the one show done, I’ll have to start to produce the other show.  I’ll tell you, being sick last week really got me behind and I haven’t caught up yet.  Heather was also nice enough to take Austin to Boy Scouts tonight so I could continue to work.  I got done with my show and got caught online, so I thought I should get involved in the latest show of the Mandalorian Mercs podcast, titled “Mando’ade”.  I spent some time with them on the phone then I finished up the night by watching some T.V. with Heather downstairs by finally watching some new episodes of “Big Bang Theory”, “How I Met Your Mother”, “Two and a Half Men”, “The New Adventures of Old Christine”, but still no new C.S.I. Miami.  They’re supposed to start next week.  I was so happy to have some of my regular shows back again.  After that, we went to bed.  Tomorrow will be an interesting day as we are now two days before vacation and I think the chaos in school is only going to get worse.  All well, this is the life of being a teacher.
Okay, so let’s talk about Part 7 of Chapter 3 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..


Chapter 3 (Part 7):  Mace watched as the groundcar moved further down the road in the hot afternoon sun.  They had now made their way above the capital and to the far side of the mountain.  Nick and the others were hiking through the woods with weapons slung over their shoulders.  Nick told Mace they needed to make the tree lines as soon as possible because of air patrols.  Mace had a feeling in the pit of his stomach that, were he not a Jedi, would be dread.  Somehow he felt that civilization would leave him behind at this jungle.  Mace really felt he could smell everything, the plants, trees, sun, and even his own sweat.  He was sweating all over, his clothes were also starting to reflect that sweat.  He listened as Nick explained why Republic partisans under the command of a Jedi Master had decided to murder the boss of Republic Intelligence…..

 

Leave a Reply

