‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 3: Jungle to Jungle (Part 6)

Sunday.  Not just any Sunday, but Palm Sunday.  And for my kids, it will be a preemptive Easter Sunday.  I’m sure they could not be much happier.  We got up at a decent hour this morning and got ourselves going for the day.  The girls got all dressed up in their nice new Easter dresses and my son got all dressed up in his new Easter clothes and I have to say that I’ve never seen my own kids looking quite so dapper before in my life.  My wife even got a little festive with her attire which is not like her.  She just doesn’t like to get dressed up for church for some reason, but she did today.  Maybe she felt guilted into doing it.  We all got ready and headed out the door to church.

It was an interesting message this morning.  Our pastor was actually sick (probably with the same thing that Heather and I caught this past week), so he was in church, but couldn’t speak from the pulpit because he didn’t have enough of a voice left to do so.  Instead we had a lay pastor come and I have to say I liked the guy.  He had a great sense of humor and I really enjoyed his message.  He got me to think of the story of Palm Sunday from a different point of view.  I was able to think of it from the Roman and the Jewish point of view instead of the Christian point of view.  It never dawned on me that the Jews expected Jesus to be some sort of King that would raise an army up against the Roman Empire.  I never thought about the fact that the Romans may think the same thing.  That’s a tough position to be in!  Either way, Jesus was going to disappoint someone!  Anyway, it was a good service and we had fun as well.  We got done with service and Heather and I headed right home to pull out Easter baskets while Grammy and Papa took the kids to Wal Mart to hang out for a little bit to give us some time to get things out.

We got the Easter baskets out and then put things together for our dinner this afternoon.  The kids got home with Grandma and Grandpa and they couldn’t wait to open the gifts on the floor.  So, I told Heather that we knew we would have to do it right away and we had the kids change their clothes and then we decided to let the kids open their gifts.  They all got some really nice things.  Tara got some Barbie things, Ruth got some High School Musical things, and Austin, of course, got some Star Wars things as well as some G.I. Joe toys.  It was a nice afternoon and then Heather got dinner underway.  We had ham with all of the fixings and it was an absolutely awesome dinner.  Once we got done, we sat around in the living room for a while and talked and then my wife and my parents took a nap.  I decided to head downstairs and continue on with trying to record the next segment of my “Novel Ideas” episode of my podcast.  I can’t believe that I’m this far behind and I’m worried about my next podcast show coming out on time, if at all!  Anyway, we got around nine o’clock or so and my parents decided to join Heather and I in the basement and we watched the first two episodes of “John Adams”, the HBO special about the politician with the same name.  I have to say that it was a nice show and I was impressed not only with how historically accurate it was, but I think it will really open people’s eyes to things like tarring and feathering a British Redcoat.  It wasn’t exactly a pretty thing that we did to them!  Of course, they were just as cruel to us!  Anyway, a good show.  We finished watching it and we all went to bed.  I do have to say that I wasn’t resenting having to go to bed since we didn’t have to try to sleep on the futon tonight, but had a nice mattress to sleep on.  Tomorrow’s Monday and what a week I have ahead of me!
Okay, let’s talk about Part 6 of Chapter 3 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..


Chapter 3 (Part 6):  Mace then pointed out that if they do not want to dissapoint, then they need his cooperation.  Mace told them to reconsider as they now had two choices for a chance, slim and fat.  Nick said that Windu needed them too, but Mace corrected him into saying Master Windu, as he had earned the title.  Nick tried to explain that Mace wasn’t from around here and that all the Jedi are from a galaxy of peace.  That is not the case on Haruun Kal.  Haruun Kal is a different kind of place, not backwards, just out of the ordinary.  Mace went on to explain that Republic Intelligence had provided him with a team, when he saw the glances made around the room and stopped in mid-sentence.  He said they know something about that up-country team and Nick said he isn’t grasping what he’s saying.  Nick asked who Mace thought they had just left behind for dead.  Everyone else gave Mace an apologetic shrug.  Then as Mace starred at Chalk, who was now craddling her weapon like a child, Mace put two and two together and realized that these were the people that shot Phloremirrla Tenk…..

 

Leave a Reply

