‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 3: Jungle to Jungle (Part 3)

So it was Thursday and I was getting toward the weekend.  I woke up this morning and I have to say that I was in extreme pain!  I just didn’t realize how playing a basketball game with the students would get my muscles and body so sore.  I kept ice on my face all last night and I started with it early this morning.  Because of me keeping my cheek on ice, I was able to keep a bruise from coming to the surface, which I am very thankful for.  My children found it funny to see their old man walking around the house in pain and moaning and complaining.  Ruth just told me I was a wimp!  She’s probably right.  Okay, so the kids got themselves ready for school and I got myself ready for work and we did it with little problems whatsoever.
Once I got to school, I started to get things ready for my day today.  It was going to be an interesting day, especially considering the boy who hit my cheek is in my first period class, but I laughed it off with him and I hope I made him feel better about what I considered to be an accident.  It was a good day as far as teaching my classes and what-not.  It was interesting to hear all the kids talking about how unfair the ending of the game was and about how they had beat us “fair and square”, yet when I ask them on an individual basis if they thought the referees called the game fairly, they all admit that if it had been, they would have been beat.  It’s just interesting to observe the dynamics of my middle school aged students.  I managed to moan and groan my way through the day today and then went home.
I got home and I told Heather I was exhausted and I went to our bedroom and took a little bit of a nap.  I got up and helped Heather make dinner and we all ate together as a family.  I then helped Heather clean up the house while the kids cleaned up dinner.  My parents were coming for the weekend and my house looked like a disaster zone.  And that was well beyond the fact that we have walls missing in my house getting ready for the stairs to be moved.  The electrician finished with his work today and I have to say I feel better about the electrical in our house being updated and I feel even better about the fact that the basement is now on two different circuits and not on one anymore.  Our hope is that when Heather turns on her iron, it won’t turn off my room in the basement.  So far, that is the case.  After we got done upstairs, we went downstairs and watched some T.V. together.  After about ten o’clock or so, we went to bed.  I had a big day to get ready for tomorrow.  I had a SMASH concert and my parents were coming.  It was going to be a big weekend.
Okay, so let’s talk about Part 3 of Chapter 3 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..


Chapter 3:  Jungle to Jungle (Part 3):  Mace sat in the passenger cabin of a groundcar as it made it’s way through Pelek Baw.  Mace acted like he needed to recharge his lightsaber with some blasterpacks, but it was all busy work.  It kept his head down.  The Korunnai took apart the weapons with great ease and began to rub portaak amber on all the parts and Mace recognized it as the residue on Depa’s lightsaber hilt.  Smiley suggested Mace rub it on his own and then procure a knife and slug thrower.  He told Mace that powered weapons are unreliable on this planet.  As Smiley worked on Mace’s wounds with some stolen spray bandage, he introduced himself as Nick Rostu.  Nick was an orphan like Mace, spoke non-broken Basic and knew his way around the city.  Mace deduced that Nick spent most of his childhood in Pelek Baw.  The red-headed woman went by the name of Chalk and the other two male members were brothers that went by the names of Lesh (the older brother) and Besh.  They spoke Korun in the groundcar not realizing that Mace was catching every word and understood the conversation fairly well.  What he couldn’t remember from his Korun lessons as a child, The Force helped to fill in the gaps…..

Leave a Reply

