‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 3: Jungle to Jungle (Part 2)

Wednesday.  Middle of the week and a ton of things need to get done.  I got up this morning and scrambled to get myself together for school.  For some reason, I just didn’t want to get going for the day.  I’m looking forward to and dreading my work day all at once.  The kids did a great job getting ready for school again and I was impressed they were able to pull themselves together and get going as quick as they did.  I got myself going for the day and headed off to school.

I got to school and set things up for my day today.  I knew it was going to be an interesting day on many different levels.  First, my eighth grade students would be taking their first keyboard test, my sixth grade students would be getting ready for their recorder test next week and so would my seventh grade students, except their test would be on keyboard next week.  So, I had a lot to do with my students in class.  On top of it all, today was the day of the student-teacher basketball game and it was the talk of the day.  The students talked smack to me all day long simply because they have it in their head that I was some great basketball player because I managed to score 12 points at the last faculty-faculty basketball game.  I tried to explain to them that I was no threat and that it was a lucky game and I probably wouldn’t be repeating that performance.  Somehow, I don’t think they believed me.

So, we got done with our day and it was time for the game.  I got changed and went into the gym and started warming up.  Some things became apparent while I was warming up.  First, I’m not as young as I used to be.  Of course, that had a direct impact on the rest of the things I was going to comment on.  I’m not as fast as I used to be.  On top of all of that, I was laying bricks left and right and somehow I just couldn’t get anything to land.  Some of the other teachers, luckily, were playing really hot including our tallest player.  So, after warm-ups, Rob and I headed into the library to run through “The Star Spangled Banner” quick before the game.  That’s when I discovered that I can’t play the trumpet well when I’m out of breath.  Imagine that!  Anyway, Rob and I went into the gym afterward and ran in with the team and then started off the game by playing “The Star Spangled Banner”.  We then got going with our game.  I volunteered to go into the game as a starter.  That was probably was a mistake and I should have paced myself.  We got going into the game and I had quite the accident.

I went to go get the ball at one point during the game and another student tried to get the same ball.  Well, his head met with my left cheek and I have to say, he won and I hurt.  I fell onto the floor and all I can say is that everything went black for a good five to ten seconds.  I came to (with an obvious concussion), but told everyone I was fine and I did manage to get myself up and get over to the bench.  I don’t remember too much more of the game other than I know we had a lot of fouls called on us, but it was all in good fun to give the kids a chance in the game.  We did kind of dominated the first half of the game.  The second half they were calling all sorts of fouls on us including everything from touching a student to “double dribbles” that were crossovers.  It was all in good fun, but with one second to go, Mr. Buchak made a miracle pass to one of our other players and we won while the buzzer was sounding.  The kids complained that they won and the buzzer was done, etc, etc.  As one of the players said to me later, we give them all sorts of room and they think they had us, all well, it was all in good fun.  I got done with the game and gave my wife a call as she had called my cell while I was in the game.
She said she needed to go to Wal Mart to pick up some things and said we should just eat at “Old Country Buffet” using the coupons that the church gave to us on Sunday for the kids.  I said it made sense and she said good, as she was already on her way over there and told me to just drive right to the restaurant.  We met at the restaurant and ate dinner together and had a good time as a family.  We went to Wal Mart afterwards and got done there and went home.  As soon as we got home, it was time for the kids to go right to bed.  Heather and I put some things away and then went right downstairs and watched some T.V. before heading to bed.  I was so tired when I went to bed tonight, that as soon as my head hit the pillow, I was OUT!
Okay, so let’s talk about Part 2 of Chapter 3 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..


Chapter 3:  Jungle to Jungle (Part 2):  Smiley recategorized it as an ambush and said, sarcastically, thank you for saving your life!  He again asked what the fuss was and Mace said it would have been nice to have taken at least one of them captive, alive.  Smiley asked why and Mace said for questioning.  Then a Korunnai woman with red hair answered saying that these six Balawai scum will now not be burning, murdering, and killing innocent Korunnai people .  Mace slowed his pace and asked how they were sure their men did such things and the Korunnai woman said because they are Balawai.  mace saw his lightsaber and lifted it off the ground to his hand using The Force as he instructed the rest of them that they will not murder others in his presence anymore.  He did say that if that fails, he will avenge any victims.  Smiley told him they were at war, but before they could talk more, the sirens of the militia started to become audible.  The Korunnai stripped the bodies quickly as Mace said that these men were not soldiers.  Smiley said maybe not, but they do have good gear, better than what The Republic provides.  Mace asked if it was worth the victims and again Smiley said they were waiting for their thank you.  But Mace reminded him that Smiley led him into this mess.  He laughed and said she talks about him all the time and knew they wouldn’t get him, and then he asked Windu if he was coming along…..

Leave a Reply

