‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 3: Jungle to Jungle (Part 1)

Tuesday.  The second day of the week and what a day it was!  I knew it would be busy, but I just didn’t realize how busy it was going to be till the day got going along.  I got up at my usual time this morning and got myself going for the day and helped the kids get ready for the day.  The good thing is the simple fact that my children are really becoming self sufficient in the morning and I’m very rarely, if ever, having problems with them in the morning which is HUGE to me because my children are making me proud by showing me that the can be absolutely responsible when I need them to be.  I guess that’s my daddy gene coming acrossed again.

I got to school and prepped myself for my busy day.  I felt as though I was going ninety-miles a minute and I felt as if I never had a chance to even breath.  Heck, I literally didn’t even have a moment to pee.  Isn’t that sad?  I had such a busy day and I was in all sorts of meetings throughout the day and felt as though I just couldn’t think about anything.  I got done with my usual part of my school day and then closed everything down as quick as I could so I could head to a department meeting over at the High School.  That meeting went as I expected it would (take from that what you want{heh}).  Jim and I left that meeting early and headed off to SMASH rehearsal.

Our SMASH rehearsal went as well as I expected it to and I have to say that these students are really ready for our concert on Friday night.  There are some minor things we need to work on, but we’ll be ready and it will be a good concert.  I got done with SMASH and had a chance to look at my phone today and found out that Heather wasn’t able to meet with the electrician this morning because he showed up early and she got home at the time they arranged for and evidently he wasn’t prepared to be there at 9:30 like they originally agreed upon, but he wanted to start at 8:30 and she wasn’t there, so he moved onto the next job.  She called him and arranged a time for him to come tomorrow.  She also told me that she thinks her interview for the Wendy’s Corporate office went well.   She believes she may have the job and was a little excited at that prospect.  I talked to her a little while I drove home from SMASH and was able to meet up with her at home.  We had a nice dinner together of some tacos and then had the kids clean up the kitchen table and we went downstairs and watched some T.V. together and talked about our week while I worked on grading some papers for my classroom and got some work done in the basement.  My busy week just keeps trucking on tomorrow.  I hate to say it, but I almost can’t wait until I get to Thursday and have a chance to have a breather.
Okay, so enough about me, it’s time to talk about Part 1 of Chapter 3 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..


Chapter 3:  Jungle to Jungle (Part 1):  Mace stood on the roof looking at Depa’s green blade.  Mace wondered if Smiley was given the lightsaber or if he had taken it off of her dead body.  He noted some sort of plant residue as he put the hilt away.  He looked down over the roof at Smiley and the Korunnai as they were looting the six dead bodies in the alley below.  He noticed one of the bodies had been brutally cut from ear to ear.  He used The Force and sensed no guilt from any of those who aided him and he worried that they were his only link to Depa.  He slid down the rope and Smiley offered to use some spray bandage on Mace’s wounds.  Windu said they needed to re-establish their relationship.  He grabbed Smiley’s arm, hard, and asked if there were a peaceful way to resolve this.  As he did, the other Korunnai looked up and started to reach for their triggers as Smiley complained about his arm.  Mace told him to tell the Korunnai what they were doing and began to tighten his grip.  Smiley turned toward the Korunnai and put their minds at ease letting them know they were peacefully getting to know each other and they put their weapons away and went back to stripping the dead bodies on the ground.  Smiley asked Mace what his problem was and the Jedi said he didn’t like Smiley since they met, especially considering he led them into a trap and not Mace…..

Leave a Reply

