‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 2: Capital Crimes (Part 11)

Sunday and Daylight Savings Time.  Let me tell you, I hate losing an hour’s worth of a day and I hate it even more when I lose and hour of sleep in that process.  We got up fairly late this morning.  I looked at the clock and it read nine o’clock and then I realized that clock had not been set an hour ahead, so it was really ten o’clock.  I slowly got out of bed and got myself going for the day.  It was definetly a lazy day.  I was slow at getting myself ready for the meeting and I felt totally horrible about my wife and oldest daughter.  They both looked like death warmed over and Heather said she felt worse today than she did yesterday.  I told her she needed to see a doctor tomorrow as this flu she has is getting worse instead of better.  I got some breakfast and got ready for my meeting.

On my drive to Barnes and Nobles, I began to realize that I had not thought of a “Question of the Month” for this bi-month.  I’ve been too busy.  So, I thought I would recycle and old one I have as I haven’t used that question yet.  I got to the meeting and I have to say it lifted my spirits for the week.  We went through and talked about what we have coming up and we do have quite a bit going on.  It’s interesting because we’ve found out that our month of May is packed and we have something going on every weekend.  In many ways, this is really cool as it gives me a chance to get into my costume more, which I’m all about and just have a blast with.  We goofed around some more and just had a good old time with everyone there.  There are two wives of the group that are due any day now and I have to say that I feel for the husbands because I know what it’s like to be there, on the edge of a birth.  They’re stressed and can’t wait for it all to be over.  I don’t blame them.  We got done with our meeting and I came right home and got to work on some more Star Wars costume things, but not for too long.  I was tired too and took a little nap myself.  I recorded for a little more this afternoon and then went upstairs and helped Heather with dinner.  There wasn’t much to do, she and Ruth had Chicken Noodle Soup and Austin, Tara, and I had some left overs out of the fridge.  By the evening this evening, Heather said she was feeling a little better, but she still looked like she was ready to keel over any minute.  She went to bed a little earlier than me and I stayed up till eleven trying to get things ready for my crazy work week.  That’s when I realized that Jim and I had scheduled our SMASH rehearsal on the same night as a Department meeting.  I emailed Jim and let him know about it and we’ll have to see where it goes from there.  I was exhausted by the time I got to bed and I began to realize that my work week is complete insanity!  I have only one night this week where there is not something going on.
Okay, let’s talk about Part 11 of Chapter 2 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..


Chapter 2:  Capital Crimes (Part 11):  Mace said he gives up and held his hands up as he got out from behind the garbage bins.  As he came out to greet his attackers, Mace said they are some of the best he’s met and one of his attackers thanked him.  Mace assumed the man he was talking to was the leader as he noted the different styles of blaster rifles they were all carrying.  The leader said said that being complimented by a Jedi like him is high praise.  He asked Mace to hand over his Power 5 blaster by having him drop it on the ground and then kick it over to his friend.  As the leader stepped in front of the blaster rifles behind him, he realized there were no shatterpoints here, which meant things were going to get tough.  The leader asked fo rthe lightsaber and before Mace turned it over, he told the leader that they forgot their most important piece of equipment, an ambulence.  The leader trained his blaster on Mace as he tossed it towards him.  Mace tossed it through the air and felt his assailants loosen their defense.  You see, Mace knew that the real lightsaber in his life was not the object now in the air, but his mind.  He took his lightsaber and treated it like a bullett and slammed it between the eyes of the attacker and knocked him out instantly…..

Leave a Reply

