‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 2: Capital Crimes (Part 9)

Friday.  End of my work week and there was a lot I wanted to get accomplished today. Somehow, it just all didn’t seem to work out though.  I think it’s just because I expect too much out of myself and my day.  I need learn to be realistic about my expectations.  I got up this morning and got myself and my kids ready for the day.  We had no problem getting out the door this morning.  I did notice that Ruth wasn’t her normal chipper self this morning, but really didn’t think anything twice about it.  Just figured she was tired, which happens from time to time, especially if she’s going through a growth spurt.  I headed off to work and they headed off to school.

I came in today with the second movie “Pirates of the Carribean:  Dead Man’s Chest” for my students to watch while the New York State Math exam was taking place.  The test ended rather early this morning and I felt bad as my students didn’t even finish the movie, but sometimes that’s just how things work out.  We got done with the exam and I ran a backwards schedule.  So this means I had my sixth grade classes that did “American Idol” with me, and then my first period eighth grade students started to work on their music video projects.  They had a blast doing their first day of filming and I have to say that I think these will be some of the best videos yet!  I got done with school and came home.

When I got home, I found my wife who was not looking well and was not feeling well.  She said she felt horrible and had gone home early from work this morning.  I told her she needed to get some rest and she took a nap while I helped the kids when they got home from school.  We still had things to put away from last night, so Tara and Austin did that while Ruth took a nap with Heather.  Both of the older females in my house were not doing so well.  It got to dinner time and I suggested to Heather that I go to Wendy’s and get dinner that way she didn’t have to cook and she could rest up a little.  She said it sounds like a good idea and I left the house with a list for Wendy’s.  I ended up getting dinners for everyone and came home and the kids and I ate upstairs while Heather ate downstairs and then kept falling in and out of sleep.  I could tell this was going to be the beginning of a long weekend.  I got done with dinner and started work on some of my costume concepts.  The big one I got done tonight was putting together a water tank for my Mando costume that would be part of the backpack on the costume.  I also started to work on some material for my Rancor Keeper costume.  I wanted to start work on both this weekend as well as get my “Novel Ideas” recorded, but I’m not sure that’s going to happen considering I haven’t even recorder my “Novel Ideas” episode at all yet tonight and I wanted to get half of it done tonight.  I am now behind again, such is my life.  But I’m doing it all to take care of my girls tonight.
Okay, let’s talk about Part 9 of Chapter 2 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..


Chapter 2:  Capital Crimes (Part 9):  Mace looked around and realized he was at a dead end and thought this was a perfect place for a trap.  He began to wonder if they would even attack and he opened his mind and feelings to The Force.  He felt energy fields.  As he waited, he sensed four beings.  Two of them were advancing and two hung back to cover the alley as an escape.  Windu realized that the repulsorlifts were overhead now on the left and right.  Speeder bikes; and Mace knew that this was going to be interesting. Mace recognized that he was now about to give into one of his flaws.  He liked to fight.  He wondered, for a moment, if it were possible to buy the information, without hurting them.  But that moment passed when Mace realized that his perpetrators were about to attack.  He sensed their angst and reacted before they even squeezed the triggers on their blasters.  As Mace went to deflect the bolts with his lightsaber, they grazed him and hit the garbage bins behind him.  Now Mace wondered if he was in trouble.  The shooters switched to automatic and grazed Mace’s leg as he flipped through the air.  It didn’t penetrate the boot leather which made Mace realized that they were set on stun and this made him realized that these professionals want him alive…..

Leave a Reply

