‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 2: Capital Crimes (Part 8)

Thursday and the first day of New York State Math testing.  I know I wasn’t looking forward to it, and I’m pretty sure the kids weren’t looking forward to it either.   I got up this morning and got my things together for the day.  The kids took care of themselves and did a good job getting ready for school while I got ready for work.  I got things together and realized I had quite a bit to carry to work today.  I had my usual bag with laptop, a bag full of games and movies, my chess set, my lunch bag, my trumpet bad, and of course coffee.  I had just decided that I was going to have to make multiple trips just to get into the building.  I had the kids help me get out to the car with all this stuff and then I told them to head off to school and I de-iced my car and headed off to work.

Luckily I ran into a co-worker who was willing to help me get the stuff out of my car and into my classroom which was nice.  It was my next door neighbor in school which made it a little easier on me.  I got my classroom ready for a day that I wasn’t sure what was going to happen in.  I had things prepped in my class for fourth through nineth period just in case the testing ended early.  We got under way with testing and the students I was watching decided they wanted to watch “Pirates of the Carribean:  Curse of the Black Pearl”.  While they watched I worked on a whole bunch of things, mainly updating my notes for the next episode of “Novel Ideas” and then running those notes through spell check.  It takes a significant time to do that, so that is mostly what I did while they watched the movie.  Testing ended just before fifth period and the kids did period five, then lunch and periods seven through nine.  They were a little wound up, but I expected them to be considering they were couped up testing all morning long.  We got done with the school day and I headed right home.  I was exhausted and couldn’t wait for the opportunity to spend some time with my kids at home.  My kids came home and I helped them with homework a little and then I went downstairs and worked on copying some DVD’s that I needed to work on.  I came back upstairs and helped Heather with dinner and we ate and then the kids took care of the dishes.  After dinner Heather and I got the kids together and we headed toward Endicott to visit with Jessica to look at the furniture.  Heather wanted to stop on the way to get some material (some of it for an Imperial Officer’s uniform).  We also had to stop at Wal Mart, but she figured we could do that on the way home.

We got to Jessica’s father’s house early and had to wait on her to show up.  We got there so early that I had to take the girls to the local gas station to go to the restroom.  Of course, while we were gone, Jessica and her husband showed up.  But it was okay as we didn’t miss them.  I was blown away at what Jessica and her husband were willing to donate to my family.  We are going to come back Saturday and pick up the things they have.  We’ll be able to get a picnic table, Adirondack lounge chair, couch, two chairs, a box spring and mattress, and we picked up a dehumidifier tonight to take home with us.  I was blown away by this show of generosity.  It really goes to show that friends can really be answers to prayers.  We got done at Jessica’s fathers house and went into Wal Mart and did some quick errands.  It was late by now, so we headed straight home and put the kids straight to bed.  Heather and I went downstairs and watched a little bit of T.V. and then went off to bed.
Okay, let’s talk about Part 7 of Chapter 2 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..


Chapter 2:  Capital Crimes (Part 7):  The young Korun clearly wanted Mace to chase him as he kept nudging Mace using The Force.  As Mace chased him through the crowds he kept getting pushed and prodded by the locals and he kept warning individuals that they don’t want to fight him.  One individual tried to get physical with Mace but learned that his hand wasn’t as strong as Mace’s skull and Mace remembered the lesson Yoda always taught him, that the best lesson is one without words.  As Mace continued the chase, he realized h wasn’t going to get any closer to the stranger without attracting attention to himself and without injuring innocents.  The smile on the stranger’s face bothered Mace and he wondered if it was a malicious smile.  The Korun now turned down a dark street and Mace noted a bunch of drunk Yarkora and a few Balawai sweeping stoops.  One of the Balawai spit at Mace’s shoes as he passed.  Mace stopped and heard a new sound, repulsorlift engines, maybe several of them.  he continued to run after his smiling stranger as he tried to guess what kind of vehicle the sound was coming from.  He thought it was swoops or speeder bikes, but ruled out a landspeeder.  He kept chasing the smiling companion through winding streets and alleys till he found himself in a small courtyard that was only five meters square…..

Leave a Reply

