‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 2: Capital Crimes (Part 7)

Wednesday, middle of the work week.  I got up this morning and looked outside to find NOTHING new on the ground.  No ice, no snow, just a little rain.  It had warmed up all night long, so all that ice and snow we got yesterday just turned into rain and a wet mess outside.  No school delays and no hopes of going home early.  I know the kids were probably disappointed, but I have to say it was nice to know that I may actually get a full day of instruction.  As my brother would say, “so I got that going for me, which is nice”.  I got up and got the kids ready for school.  I have to say that things are going a lot smoother since Heather gave them a schedule and a set of responsibilities in the morning.  It gives them a sense of purpose and it makes me feel like I’m not the nagging father figure in their life.  So, we all got out the door on time and I headed to work while they headed to school.

My classes went okay today considering that my students were made aware today that the schedules would be messed up tomorrow and Friday for State Math exams.  Yeah.  During my morning periods today, Heather and I had a prayer answered by a friendly co-worker at my school.  As many of you know, I’ve mentioned a friend on my blog named Jessica.  She’s the one that owns the two cute dogs “Honey” and Jammer”.  Well, she came downstairs to let me know today that they’re working on clearing out her father’s house as he is in a nursing home.  She told me that they have a whole bunch of furniture that they are willing to give away.  She talked about a whole bunch of things like girls’ beds and some mattresses and what-not.  What I was most interested in was a couch and two chairs that Jessica said they have.  Heather and could really use those.  Our chair upstairs has just broken beyond repair and Heather recently openly admitted that should could not fix the huge holes in our couches that we had donated from another couple (from where their dog had chewed a hole in the couch).  I wasn’t sure how we were going to replace a couch and a chair, but now somehow our prayers have been answered.  So, I set up a time to meet with Jessica tomorrow night to look at what’s there and Heather said we could rent a truck from Lowes and get the stuff from her father’s house back to ours.  I said it sounded like a plan.

I got done with my school day and hung around as I had SMASH rehearsal at Roosevelt tonight.  I got some grading done and was able to listen to “The Force Cast” a little before I had to leave for rehearsal tonight.  I got to SMASH and told Jim that I would be unable to make a regular Wednesday night rehearsal next week as I had a staff basketball game to help raise money for the eighth grade class and then a concert for my daughter at Chenango Valley High School that night.  Jim said he understood, but we needed to reschedule the rehearsal as we have a concert next week Friday night.  I agreed and we talked to the students and rescheduled next week to Tuesday night, as it worked out for everyone else.  We had a good rehearsal tonight and clarified some things, but we have a little bit to work out yet before our performance next week Friday.  It should come together, though.  I got done with SMASH and went home and had some dinner.  Heather said there was no Girl Scouts tonight and there was none next week, so we actually got to relax a little together this evening.  We ate dinner together (waffles with strawberries, my new favorite) and then went downstairs and relaxed and watched our usual Wednesday night T.V. shows.  While we watched, I got things  together for the testing tomorrow.  I have to entertain about six kids for about three hours, so I had to find something for them to do.
Okay, it’s time to talk about Part 6 of Chapter 2 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..


Chapter 2:  Capital Crimes (Part 6):  As Mace was walking he felt a friendly nudge on his shoulder.  But when he turned to look, no one was there.  Then he realized the nudge had made it’s way to him through The Force.  Mace looked through the crowd for his friendly client that was nudging him through The Force.  He couldn’t see the person and then got another nudge and saw him, a thin Korun, young, wearing the shirt of a jungle ghoshin.  The Korun smiled and ran up the street.  Mace recognized the eyes of someone near him during the riot on the night before.  Mace ran after him thinking this was a promising lead…..

Leave a Reply

