‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 2: Capital Crimes (Part 6)

Tuesday.  I got up this morning not knowing how to handle the situation my house was in.  I found out after I got out of the shower that the kids have a two-hour delay and my school has no delay at all.  I’m not sure how this could happen considering the two schools are only about twenty minutes away from each other.  Why was there a delay?  Well, weather forecasters are predicting the worst ice storm we’ve seen in a while here in the Southern Tier.  So, you have to ask yourself, why would any good reputable school district send their kids to school.  Simple, state exams!  You gotta love New York State!  So, I got going for the day and called Heather and explained the scenario and asked her what I should do.  I suggested that I call in to my school and say that I’m stuck home with the kids.  Heather told me not to do that and that she would come home for a quick five minutes and pick up the kids.  She said she would take the kids to school once her other boss got in and she had a moment to work that out with him.

I have to say my morning commute was really nothing to have to worry about.  I had no problems on my way in to work and I was really beginning to wonder if we were going to have to worry at all.  However, once I got to work, it started to sleet a little and some freezing rain came down with it.  I got in the door and told the janitors that either this was going to be the gutsiest call ever made by a school district or the dumbest one.  Well, it was a pretty gutsy call.  We got in and had our morning classes and around eleven o’clock or so, it was announced we were all going home.  Of course, after that point, I lost my students and I was supposed to be teaching them another hour.  Like any other time we got sent home early, I started a lesson plan after lunch that didn’t last long and before I knew it my kids were gone and I was packing up.  I left the school and have to say that the freezing rain was coming down, but it wasn’t bad yet.  I got home and spent the rest of the afternoon with my kids and wife.  I really just did some school grading that needed to get done and then took a brief nap as that illness from the weekend was still draining the energy out of me.  Is it horrible to say that I don’t have time to get sick?

We went upstairs and prepared and ate dinner together.  The kids cleaned up from dinner and I went downstairs and started to work on some things, in particular the notes for the next episode of “Novel Ideas” among other things.  Heather and I watched our usual shows and then went to bed.  Tomorrow was going to be an interesting day if this ice keeps up as it has all evening long.
Okay, let’s talk about Part 6 of Chapter 2 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..


Chapter 2:  Capital Crimes (Part 6):  – From the Private Journals of Mace Windu:  I should already be on my way to finding Depa by now.  I could meet with the other Republic Intelligence agents and I could have hired my own team but my own account is now wiped out using the bribe to get Geptun to “forget” about “Kinsal Trappano”, but I also know the money will be replaced by members of the Jedi Council.  It wouldn’t be hard to get a steamcrawler and hire some thugs.  I could do many things.  I have discovered that I’m afraid of making another mistake.  I’m not familiar with this feeling and didn’t know it could exist till Geonosis.  We teach Jedi in the Temple that the only mistake they can make is to trust our feelings and not our brains.  We are told to keep oursleves empty so The Force may fill us with strength and purpose.  A Jedi makes no actual decisions but simply trusts.  Simply, we are trained to know.  Haruun Kal has taught me that the failures on Geonosis has shown me that it could happen again.  It will happen again and I cannot stop it.  To come here makes intellectual sense, to go after Depa myself, feels right.  But with this shadow on The Force, can I still trust my feelings?  I am at a crossroad and do not know what path to take…..

Leave a Reply

