‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 2: Capital Crimes (Part 5)

Monday.  The beginning to what I hope will seem like a long work week, but somehow I think it’s going to feel like a long work week in some way.  I woke up to what I considered to be an odd phone call this morning.  I woke up to find out that we had a two hour delay for school today.  Now, I fully expected a phone call tomorrow and expected it to go down that way, but some how not this morning.  I even went out to the living room and looked outside expecting to see some sort of vastly new winter wonderland outside.  But alas, we had nothing.  I was perplexed as to why we had a two hour delay.  Then I stepped outside.  Holy freakin freezing Batman!!  It was so cold my nose hairs retreated behind my brain and asked me to never expose them to those temperatures again!  It was just wrong!  Then I text messaged Heather and told her that the kids and I both had a two hour delay for school.  In many ways, that was good.  I went back to bed and got to sleep in a little to try and feel better from this cold and the extra sleep did it’s job to help.

I got up about an hour and a half later and still had plenty of time to get ready for school and head into work.  It was nice to have a relaxing opening to my Monday.  We even had time to watch Dr. Phil today, which was very interesting as he had a discussion about teenage sex and I had a chance to share some of my viewpoints with my eleven year old daughter thanks to the show.  It started a dialogue with her as to why there is no such thing as “safe sex”.  That the only way to have safe sex is to abstain from sex until you get married.  She’s a smart cookie and has put it together the fact that Heather was pregnant with her when we got married and I had a very frank discussion with her about that this morning.  We got done watching the show and headed out the door.  The kids headed off to school and I headed off to work with hopes that things would not be complete chaos today.  Other than being really cold outside, I saw no danger going to work.  In some ways, I think they could have gone with a one hour delay.

On my way to work, I started to work through lesson plans in my head for my classroom for the two-hour delay schedule.  Well, my principal decided to not follow our usual schedule and decided that we all needed to have our regular schedule with just shortened periods.  It was a nice idea as I know we have our Math test this coming end of the week, but it made it hard on the arts teachers as trying to have classes that were only about twenty minutes long was quite an adjustment.  I had a good lunch with the two art teachers in my classroom and we had some great discussions including about today’s Dr. Phil.  I got done with school and came home and crashed again because this cold is still taking all the energy out of me.

I got up from a short nap and came out and helped Heather make dinner.  We ate and then Austin and I went to scouts.  We got a schedule from the Scout leader who has plans to do things with the boys now and I’m excited as it looks like we have an end girl now.  Even a camping trip in April now.  Very cool.  We got done and came home and I joined Heather watching some of our usual T.V. shows, including the season finale to “The Sarah Connor Chronicles” and I have to say I was blown away.  Shortly after that, I went to bed and got ready for another day.
Okay, so let’s talk about Part 5 of Chapter 2 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ by Matthew Woodring Stover…..


Chapter 2:  Capital Crimes (Part 5):  Mace was released at dawn at the Ministry of Justice front steps.  The streets below were as busy as they were before.  He had all his belongings with him, including his bag, blaster, and his lightsaber that was on his inside vest pocket.  He slipped into the crowd and tried to go with the flow and become part of what was around him, but Mace found it oddly alien, then he basked in the irony that he was the alien.  He had no idea what to do next…..

Leave a Reply

