‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 2: Capital Crimes (Part 2)

Friday.  End of the week, pay day.  It’s all good, as my students would say.  I got up at my usual time this morning and the kids and I got ourselves going for the day.  Today Heather has quite a day.  I haven’t written about it in my blog yet, as I wasn’t sure what was going on, but earlier this week we noticed the Kia truck we have has been leaking oil.  Not a lot, just a little bit, but enough for concern, so I told her to take it to Kost today so they could find out what the problem was with the car.  So, we are both praying it’s not too big a deal to have to deal with this situation.  Anyway, the kids and I got out the door on time and they went to school and I went to work.

It was an interesting work day.  Today was a day that I needed to give my eighth grade classes a little more freedom to plan their music videos.  My one class took advantage and did a lot of planning, my other class took advantage and decided to socialize.  I have a feeling I may have my first class that will get banned from the video project this year.  We’ll have to see, only time will tell.  My seventh grade class actually got quite a bit done as far as scripting their podcasts.  My sixth graders continued to watch Season 7 of “American Idol” with me.  Today we got to the two Star Wars contestants.  I have to say my students probably think I’m a complete geek today, but I tried to give them a different perspective on the those two contestants and we even listened to and discussed portions of “The Force Cast” that discussed this episode and I have to say that it was at least a good starting off point to talk about these issues, in particular how Star Wars fans view themselves.  I got done with my school day and was relieved the week was over.  I had a lot to do this weekend, but hopefully I would have enough time to get it all done.

I got home and Heather started talking with me about wanting to go out and get her nails done at Wal Mart.  She also explained to me why there was a Kost courtesy car in our driveway.  Kost looked at the Kia and said they could fix it and ordered a part to do it.  Well, the part needed another part now to finish the job (basically all the seals around the oil pump needed to be replaced and they all come with the hoses attached, so the hoses needed to be replaced as well as the pump itself).  So, they ordered the part and are waiting to put it in, so they gave Heather the courtesy car till they get the part in to fix the Kia with.  Not a problem, at least I don’t have to get up at four in the morning and take Heather to work.  I said that was okay, if we could go out to “Family Hobbies and Crafts” and get some more Star Wars miniatures.  She said sure, if we ate dinner out and all parties agreed (you need to learn how to negotiate with your spouse, and somehow, I’ve learned how to do that).  So, once Tara got home, we got in my car and headed out to Vestal.

We first went to “Family Hobbies and Crafts” and Heather let me get about three boxes of minis, which made me extremely happy J.  We got done there and then headed out to our “Long John Silvers/A&W” and had dinner there.  I had a nice burger with some cheese fries and of course A&W root beer in a frozen mug.  We got done and the kids and I played around with their jukebox which played fifties and sixties music and my kids were just enthralled with the concept of a jukebox and I explained to them how old jukeboxes (like the ones my parents would have seen) worked and they were impressed.  We left after our history lesson and went to Wal Mart.  Heather got her nails done while the kids and I walked around Wal Mart for a half an hour shopping for random things.  We managed to find some flowers for our anniversary (which is tomorrow, by the way) and I also found an LED light for Heather’s dashboard of her truck, that isn’t very bright and the clock is hard to see.  We found various other things including a Star Wars Book, some food, and some cleaning supplies.  We got done and went back over to pick Heather up and then headed for our way home.  On our way home, Heather said she wanted to stop at Pay Less because they were have a Buy One, Get One Half Off sale, so I said that was a good ideas as I needed sneakers and she needed dress shoes.  We got there and not only did I get sneakers, but so did the kids and I prodded Heather to get some nice shoes, including a nice pair of strappy black and white heels with a cute bow on top.  She wasn’t going to get them, but I pushed her to.

We got home and the kids got ready for bed while Heather and I went downstairs and ironically watched “When Harry Met Sally”.  I opened my minis and got some cool commons, rares, and ultra rares like Darth Vader and Chewbacca.  Gotta love that!  I did a little computer work and then we both went to bed.  We both had work to do before we headed out to celebrate our anniversary tomorrow night.
Enought about me, let’s talk about Part 2 of Chapter 2 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoing, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..


Chapter 2:  Capital Crimes (Part 2):  He began to replay teh audios from this planet and the fact that she’s “gone sane”.  He kept talking himself out of believing the fact that she went insane over the next hour he was left in the room.  The he suddenly heard the door open and he noticed a man had entered the room with a case covered in animal fur.  The man sat down and told Mace to look behind himslf and at the end of a long hallway he saw a pair of militiamen with blaster rifles trained on him  He told Mace he has a concussion and encouraged him not to turn it into a fatal blow.  As Mace starred at the  man at the table, he recognized many shatterpoings, points at which he could kill or maim his captor.  The man introduced himself as Colonel Geptun and said his friends call him Lorz.  As the man slipped through files in his case, he said he is obviously not Kinsal Trappano, Corellian pirate.  Geptun sat and starred at Windu for many moments and Windu knew he had to talk to try and get to Depa, so he asked what he was charged with.  Geptun said nothing, yet.  Geptun said they were simply interrogating him.  Mace pointed out he hadn’t asked him a question and Geptun said questions would be futile as he pulled out Mace’s lightsaber from his bag.  He followed up saying that torture would be useless as well…..

Leave a Reply

