‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 1: The Downward Spiral (Part 7)

Friday.  Technically the end of my vacation.  It’s hard to believe that my vacation is ending today and I have a weekend and then I’m back into the grind of being back to school all over again.  It just seems so hard to believe.  Well, today was another fairly busy day and it was an interesting day to say the least.  Last night, Heather had waited up for me to come home so she had a long evening and I had a long evening.  I got up around nine o’clock again this morning to watch Dr. Phil for the last time this week.  Heather called me from work and asked how I was doing and I said I was doing fine as I was organizing my Star Wars Collectible Card Game.  Allen and I got to talking about the game yesterday and it put in me the fire to continue with the game, and I said I had torn apart my previous decks, so I started to put those decks back together.  I worked on that all morning long as it was along process just before Heather got home.  Austin was a complete gentleman today and got up and walked the dog and then shoveled the driveway for his mother before coming downstairs and joining Heather and I.  Heather got home and asked Austin where he wanted to go and he said he wanted to go to Chuck E. Cheese’s.  Heather agreed and said we needed to go out and do some things anyway and I said there were some things I wanted to get as well, including some cool $1 items at our local Target that I heard about from Dan last night.  So, we didn’t waste time, we left with all my cards spread out all over the floor downstairs.
We took our time getting to Vestal as the weather was pretty bad this morning.  You just couldn’t drive like an idiot and as I said to my wife, I trust her, I just don’t trust the other idiots on the road.  But, we got to Vestal without any problems.  We decided to head down to Joanne’s first as Heather wanted to find some material for some quilts she’s working on.  Once we got there, she and I talked about material for the Imperial Officer’s uniform for Ian and myself and we looked at some things and came up with some ideas.  We got done at Joanne’s and then headed up to Target to look at their Star Wars stuff.  There were a whole bunch of cool things like mouse pads, notepads, pens, pencils, highlighters, markers, bags, and more and they were all $1 and they all highlighted Darth Vader, Yoda, and Chewbacca.  Well, needless to say I think I spent about six or seven dollars in stuff there.  We got done there and took Austin to Chuck E. Cheese for lunch.  We ate pizza first and then had a blast playing the games with him and yet again he was a complete gentleman opening doors and what-not for his mother.  We had fun and I still have the high score on the Star Wars game at Chuck E. Cheese.  I don’t know why I’m proud of this, but I am!  Anyway, we got done there and headed home.  We got home around one o’clock or so and put everything away and Heather and I both took a nap for about an hour or so because of our long night last night.  We got up from our nap and it was two o’clock or so and Heather and I realized that we missed doing a whole bunch of things.  Then, we realized that the kids never told us we were out of dog food!  Crap!  We needed to go back to Vestal, AGAIN!  Well, we were supposed to go to Danielle’s birthday party tonight, so Heather and I thought we would go shop and time it so we were over on that side of the city to go to their party and then come home.  So, Heather and I took showers among other things to get ready to go.  We talked about where we needed to go over in Vestal and it basically came down to Wal Mart and Lowe’s.  So, we left the house around five o’clock or so.  Danielle and Allen and their people there should be done with their dinner around seven o’clock or so, so if we time it right, we should’ve been done shopping just about the time they get out of dinner.  We headed to Wal Mart first.  Heather went and got some dog food, shampoo, conditioner and weather boots.  I managed to find some Mandalorian looking boots for $13, which was cool and didn’t manage to find what I was really looking for.  I was looking for color foiled card sheets for my newly created decks for my collectible card game.  I didn’t find any there but someone there said they knew they were at Toys R’Us. As we checked out, I told Heather I would call Allen and see where they were with dinner.  When I called, I found out I misread the email.  They were not going to be starting to sit down and eat until seven o’clock.  Crap!  We were going to be in Vestal a while longer, but not another three hours.  So, we decided we would finish shopping and just head home.  So, we headed over to Lowe’s and got a PVC pipe to fit my water bladder I got for my costume along with two valve caps and PVC glue that I needed.  After that we decided to head over to Toys R’ Us.  Well, they didn’t have the card sleeves either.  So, we then headed to Kaybee Toys and managed to find them.  We poked around the mall a while and then decided to get some food from Taco Bell and head home.  We got home around eight-thirty or so and I went downstairs and finished up my card decks.  I got done with that and told Heather there was something else I needed to do and she said she wanted to go to bed, so she beat me to bed.  I stayed up a little later and decided that when I get up tomorrow morning, I was going to set things up to do some sales on Ebay tomorrow.
Okay, so enough about my day, let’s talk about “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” Part 7 of Chapter 1 by Matthew Woodring Stover…..


Chapter 1:  The Downward Spiral (Part 7):  Mace had a female Neimoidian customs agent who noted he was Corellian and asked what the purpose of his visit was and Mace said it was business.  She said he needs a better answer as Corellia is not friendly and Mace acted like a Pirate and explained that this is why he’s not on Corellia.  She asked him to open his bad and he rememberd that his “old fashioned glow rod” (lightsaber reference) may not pass inspection and he refused.  As the Neimoidian asked again, she said Mace could almost pass as a Korun.  She said he was too tall and bald and that they have powers.  Mace said he has powers, the power to put ten credits in her hand.  The Neimoidian said that is a good power and she would love to see it.  Mace shipped his hand over her desk and a coin came out.  As quickly as the coin appeared it again disappeared.  She asked ot see the trick again.  He told her to check his bags and she did, so Mace repeated the trick.  She said with powers like his, he will do well on Pelek Baw.  She told him to request Pule (her name) on his way offworld and Mace said he would…..

Leave a Reply

