Tuesday. The second day of this busy week in my life. I feel bad as I have completely ignored things like my blog and podcast just to get through all this stuff this week. It appears that next week may not be any easier and somehow I have a podcast to get out on time. I got up this morning and got the kids going for the day. We did the same old, same old getting ourselves together for work and school. Austin and Ruth had a piano lesson tonight, so I made sure they had their books with them as well, and we all made our way out the door on time to work and school. Today was an interesting day at work. It was time for the state ELA test. I didn’t have to give any tests this year around, which made me feel better. I wasn’t sure if I was doing my students any justice last year by giving them the exam, but this year the special education students were with their special ed teachers and were taking the test with them. All I had to do was entertain the others until we switched groups. That wasn’t too hard. My students watched “Ratatouille” on T.V. and then played a game of Monopoly and then played keyboards until it was time for lunch. The students were completely chaotic by this time, but I can’t blame them as we had them couped up all day taking tests up until this point. I went upstairs and ate lunch and came down to complete chaos on my floor. The students then went to their afternoon classes which was okay as I only had one and I taught them some things in their workbooks and then gave them the rest of the period to work on work while I finished a music video with a group. After that, I did not have classes all afternoon long and I continued to work on grading papers. After school, I had a Music Department Meeting at Patriot Hall in the High School. I got over there with the other Classroom Music teacher and band teacher in my building and as always, we were somehow late and the meeting had started without us, which is impossible considering we made our way over there as fast as we could. It was an interesting meeting to say the least. Much was discussed and much was unsaid at the same time. The focus of this meeting was to let us know that we’re not doing enough to get African American students into our programs. So my chair made a racially charged statement implying that we should start a gospel choir or a rap class to try to get our African American students involved. Isn’t that a racial statement to make about African Americans? All well, it’s nothing new to me to hear people say this and I think we all need to start being careful what we say and who we say it to. We got done with the meeting and I went home and ate dinner. I then went downstairs and finsihed Austin’s costume and took some pictures and put them up on the Mando Mercs boards. I also added some more weight to his pinewood derby car and asked my wife to have it weighed later this week. I got done with my day and graded papers while I watched T.V. downstairs and then went to sleep.

Tuesday.  The second day of this busy week in my life.  I feel bad as I have completely ignored things like my blog and podcast just to get through all this stuff this week.  It appears that next week may not be any easier and somehow I have a podcast to get out on time.  I got up this morning and got the kids going for the day.   We did the same old, same old getting ourselves together for work and school.  Austin and Ruth had a piano lesson tonight, so I made sure they had their books with them as well, and we all made our way out the door on time to work and school.  Today was an interesting day at work.  It was time for the state ELA test.  I didn’t have to give any tests this year around, which made me feel better.  I wasn’t sure if I was doing my students any justice last year by giving them the exam, but this year the special education students were with their special ed teachers and were taking the test with them.  All I had to do was entertain the others until we switched groups.  That wasn’t too hard.  My students watched “Ratatouille” on T.V. and then played a game of Monopoly and then played keyboards until it was time for lunch.  The students were completely chaotic by this time, but I can’t blame them as we had them couped up all day taking tests up until this point.  I went upstairs and ate lunch and came down to complete chaos on my floor.  The students then went to their afternoon classes which was okay as I only had one and I taught them some things in their workbooks and then gave them the rest of the period to work on work while I finished a music video with a group.  After that, I did not have classes all afternoon long and I continued to work on grading papers.  After school, I had a Music Department Meeting at Patriot Hall in the High School.  I got over there with the other Classroom Music teacher and band teacher in my building and as always, we were somehow late and the meeting had started without us, which is impossible considering we made our way over there as fast as we could.  It was an interesting meeting to say the least.  Much was discussed and much was unsaid at the same time.  The focus of this meeting was to let us know that we’re not doing enough to get African American students into our programs.  So my chair made a racially charged statement implying that we should start a gospel choir or a rap class to try to get our African American students involved.  Isn’t that a racial statement to make about African Americans?  All well, it’s nothing new to me to hear people say this and I think we all need to start being careful what we say and who we say it to.  We got done with the meeting and I went home and ate dinner.  I then went downstairs and finsihed Austin’s costume and took some pictures and put them up on the Mando Mercs boards.  I also added some more weight to his pinewood derby car and asked my wife to have it weighed later this week.  I got done with my day and graded papers while I watched T.V. downstairs and then went to sleep. 

One Response to “Tuesday. The second day of this busy week in my life. I feel bad as I have completely ignored things like my blog and podcast just to get through all this stuff this week. It appears that next week may not be any easier and somehow I have a podcast to get out on time. I got up this morning and got the kids going for the day. We did the same old, same old getting ourselves together for work and school. Austin and Ruth had a piano lesson tonight, so I made sure they had their books with them as well, and we all made our way out the door on time to work and school. Today was an interesting day at work. It was time for the state ELA test. I didn’t have to give any tests this year around, which made me feel better. I wasn’t sure if I was doing my students any justice last year by giving them the exam, but this year the special education students were with their special ed teachers and were taking the test with them. All I had to do was entertain the others until we switched groups. That wasn’t too hard. My students watched “Ratatouille” on T.V. and then played a game of Monopoly and then played keyboards until it was time for lunch. The students were completely chaotic by this time, but I can’t blame them as we had them couped up all day taking tests up until this point. I went upstairs and ate lunch and came down to complete chaos on my floor. The students then went to their afternoon classes which was okay as I only had one and I taught them some things in their workbooks and then gave them the rest of the period to work on work while I finished a music video with a group. After that, I did not have classes all afternoon long and I continued to work on grading papers. After school, I had a Music Department Meeting at Patriot Hall in the High School. I got over there with the other Classroom Music teacher and band teacher in my building and as always, we were somehow late and the meeting had started without us, which is impossible considering we made our way over there as fast as we could. It was an interesting meeting to say the least. Much was discussed and much was unsaid at the same time. The focus of this meeting was to let us know that we’re not doing enough to get African American students into our programs. So my chair made a racially charged statement implying that we should start a gospel choir or a rap class to try to get our African American students involved. Isn’t that a racial statement to make about African Americans? All well, it’s nothing new to me to hear people say this and I think we all need to start being careful what we say and who we say it to. We got done with the meeting and I went home and ate dinner. I then went downstairs and finsihed Austin’s costume and took some pictures and put them up on the Mando Mercs boards. I also added some more weight to his pinewood derby car and asked my wife to have it weighed later this week. I got done with my day and graded papers while I watched T.V. downstairs and then went to sleep.”

  1. I would be interested in hearing about your music department. I am a music teacher and have been blogging about piano education. I would appreciate if you passed my site onto others that may be interested, especially my blog on virtual piano lessons.
    Does it bother you to have to have to attain diversified enrollment? Nice concept as all colleges love to put that in their write ups, but a bit unfair too. I think that’s what kept my child out of Middlebury. (no problem because he was accepted at a similar university.) I am also a classroom music teacher and am always looking for new ideas.
    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

