‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Introduction (Part 9)

Thursday.  Today I got up and was in a little bit of a better mood.  But in all honesty, I’m just trying to make it through from now until the weekend.  My philosophy is to do what I gotta in order to get to a day when I can sleep in a little and get caught up on all this energy that I feel that I don’t have.  So, I got up this morning and got the kids ready for school.  We all got out the door on time and felt as though we could make it through the day.  I had to wait at the bus stop because Ruth needed her clarinet today and forgot it, so I waited till she ran home and then ran back to the bus stop.
I got to work on time today and had things set up to do the music video projects with my eighth graders.  I need to do that today and tomorrow or we won’t have enough time to finish the projects this quarter and my students truly have worked hard to get them done this quarter.  I also did the Podcasting project with my seventh graders and I did music history with my sixth graders.  It wasn’t a bad day and I feel as though we got a lot accomplished when it came to the projects.  It was a good way to ease ourselves back into working full time next week.  I got done with classes today and came right home.
When I got home, I crashed downstairs for about an hour.  Heather understood because she crashed for an hour earlier today when she got home from work.  We helped each other get dinner together and even the kids seemed to be dragging  when they got home from school.  We all ate dinner together.  After dinner the kids finished up their homework and went to bed early.  Heather and I went downstairs and watched our usual T.V. shows and we even went to bed early.  It was a lazy night at the Crissman household.
Okay, before I write about this next sectin of the book, I wish to enter an “aside” for a moment.  In an effort to catch my blog back up to the date that I am currently writing my blog on, I’m going to start to cut corners.  The big corner I’m cutting is the book review.  So, with that in mind, I have decided that i’m taking more than a month off on book entries as I am already behind in my reading and if I try to catch up, this blog will get even further behind.  For example, I’m writing this entry on February 17th, even though it is about January 3rd.  I plan on writing entries only, no book reviews, from January 4th through February 16th. I apologize if this upsets some of you, but it is the only way that I can see this blog effectively catching up to the current date.
So, without further ado, let’s talk about Part 9 of the Introduction of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..


Introduction (Part 9):  Everyone sat, stunned and Mace spoke first saying he must go after her, alone.  Palpatine said this is unwise and Yoda agrees.  Palapatine suggested a covert ops team or a team of Jedi, but Mace cut him off and said it must be himself.  Then Yoda backed Windu and said he must have good reason and Palpatine stopped arguing.  Mace explained that if Depa has gone insane or to The Dark Side, he wants to expose as few Jedi as possible to it.  Then Mace said that they’re not sure it’s her as the background noise could be there to mask it’s authenticity.  The agent asked who would frame her, but Windu said she must be brought back in immediately.  Palpatine agreed, but asked why it had to be him.  Windu then said she may not want to come back, so he may have to coerse her and considering she was his padawan, who would know her better?  Then Windu pointed out that she is a Master of Vaapad.  Then Palpatine noted that Vaapad is an animal and Yoda said it comes from Sarapi, but in this case it is a reference to the seventh form of lightsaber combat.  Palpatine said he was only aware of six, but Yoda said there have always been seven, but the seventh is the most dangerous to both combatants and that there was only ever been one who mastered it.  Palpatine then cut in and said if she’s the only master, how do they plan to beat her?  Windu said that she was the only student to become a Master, but that he created Vaapad.  Then Palpatine remembered the fate of Sora Bulq, who was not a student of his.  Mace said he did not Master Vaapad, but Vaapad mastered him.  Palpatine said he understood, but Mace said he really doesn’t.  Palpatine said he gets the intensity that faces Master and apprentice and Palpatine went to talk about the events on Geonosis, and Windu cut him off saying that he would rather not talk about it.  Palpatine asked if Windu could destroy Depa if he needed to and Mace said he hoped he did not have to find out……

Leave a Reply

