‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Introduction (Part 6)

So it’s New Year’s Eve.  Heather got up early again this morning and headed off to work.  Luckily, she doesn’t have to be in to work as early tomorrow morning because they are not opening up Wendy’s until noon.  Anyway, I managed to actually sleep in a little this morning and I didn’t wake up when the alarm went off.  I got up around nine o’clock this morning and in keeping with tradition, I went downstairs and watched (you got it!) Dr. Phil.  I like watching Dr. Phil when I have days off from school.  There is something about the advice he gives on his show.  Besides, it reminds me not to be a jerk like all the guys he has on the show.  Not that I would ever be one, but it’s a way to make sure I keep myself in check.  While I watched Dr. Phil I also started to reflect about my year this year.
It’s been an interesting year for me.  2007 has had it’s moments of good and bad and even for me and this blog and podcast there have been some rocky moments this year.  I started off the year on a good foot.  I started out with one of the fastest growing costuming groups, The Mandalorian Mercs.  I was also involved with one of the fastest growing FanForce groups right here in Binghamton.  My podcast has grown a considerable audience and even my blog has really started to take on a life of it’s own over the past year.  I want to thank all of you for helping to support this blog and my podcast in taking on these lives they have taken on.  In all reality, it’s nice to know that the work that you do is appreciated.  I have had some rocky points this year to go with all of that.  My blog has gotten admitedly behind and I’m scrambling to try and catch up.  Much of that had to do with my marching band season and having problems with my laptop that I had to catch up from.  My podcast got shut down and then reinstated all within the same year and I even had my spun off podcast, “Novel Ideas” go down as well.  But, with all that negative, there are so many positives, that it outweighs all the negatives.
Now, as I look to 2008 I have some big hopes for the future.  I hope to have a sponsor for this podcast soon.  I hope to have a forum for my podcast and blog soon.  I hope to get this blog and podcast advertised more and recognized on the Internet more.  I hope that I can continue to entertain and meet entertaining people with my podcast.  I’m looking forward to 2008.  But as I look forward, I can’t help but pause and look back and say that 2007 has been a good year.
Onto my life.  I reflected throughout the day today and Heather got home around two o’clock or so and found the kids and I just totally vegging out.  This time, she expected it and wasn’t upset to find out that we had.  She took a nap as well as the kids adn then we got ready to go out to Ponderosa with our neighbors.  Our neighbors were awesome and bought my family and I an “all you can eat” buffet at Ponderosa, which my son of course took advantage of this.  We really had a great time!  They really like our kids and it was nice to get to know them and I think they enjoyed getting to know us.  We also found out some history behind our house which was nice information for Heather and I to know.  Evidently, back in the day, our house was the “party” house in the neighborhood.  In other words, everyone had kids that would come to our house and hang out.  That’s why our hallway had all the drawings on the wall because everyone from the neighborhood was allowed to write on the walls.  We learned about how the front bedroom was taken out and about how the basement used to be a fully functional basement like we’ve made it.  We also learned about how the previous owners destroyed this house and the yard.  Like letting the back yard getting muddy enough to rip around on a snowmobile on it and ripping up the soil and the grass.  It was a fun and enlightening meal.
We got done with dinner and went our seperate ways and Heather and I went home with the kids.
We had the kids up late watching movies and then we switched to CBS that was covering the ball dropping with Hannah Montana, Hillary Duff, and the Jonas Brothers.  It was a great way to celebrate the New Year.  And, on top of it, Heather cooked some awesome food for us by nine o’clock.  We had some chicken wings, shrimp, and other various snacky type foods.  This time, the kids stayed up till midnight and we all celebrated together.  Heather and I toasted the new year with some wine she likes and the kids toasted with some nice sparkling grape juice.  We had some party hats, noise makers, and even some confetti bombs that went off on the new year.  It was a nice night.  The kids were exhausted by the end of the evening and so were Heather and I.
Okay, let’s talk about Part 6 of the Introduction of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..


Introduction (Part 6):  Mace was enraged by the idea that Depa Billaba would be invovled in this act, but todl the agent that there was no sign the Jedi had partaken of this practice.  Palpatine asked Windu what the military prospects of this planet were and the agent answered none.  He said they were attacked by Balwai jungle prospectorss better known as Jups.  But he was warry as Jups never bring along their children.  He told Windu that bioscans reveal about a dozen children involved which means it wasn’t militia.  Palpatine asked what Balwai are and Windu explained that they are off worlders interested in the spices and exotic woods in the jungles of Haruun Kal.  Palpatine was shocked that people would risk thier lives over such things, but Windu pointed out the price for thyssel bark has skyrocketed lately.  Mace said he can’t see Depa being involved with civilians this way, but Yoda points out they don’t have all the evidence.  That’s when attention went to the agent and he produced a crystal and explained that it’s audio only.  They did a voice print analysis and with the ambient noise, makes a match a 90% possiblity…..

Leave a Reply

