‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Overview

Saturday.  Much to do even though I don’t have school.  I got up early this morning and started to work downstairs.  I started last night on what may be an almost impossible task.  I have been struggling with the concept behind my podcast and quite honestly have been very upset with how things are going with my podcast.  The part that upsets me the most is the fact that my problems are generally not my fault.  I have been, over the course of the last two or three weeks, been looking for a place to move my podcast to.  At first I researched the concept of paying for a site for my podcast, but quite honestly my wife and I can’t afford to do that.  I also researched the idea of finding a website under which I can host my own podcast, but again money becomes an issue.  Then, on Thursday, I had noticed that James Everett of the Star Wars Podcast “Coruscant Cast” was thinking about switching feeds to another website called mypodcast.com.  So, last night I finally had some time to check out the site.

Honestly, mypodcast.com is EXACTLY what I’m looking for.  They have a great starter site going and quite honestly have some cool concepts already in place.  On top of that, they let me see the html version of my podcast page, which will be nice for editing purposes later on.  I also found out they have unlimited storage (HUGE for a show like mine that has been around for three years and has quite a few shows to move) and they have unlimited bandwidth.  Yeah, now my podcast site won’t be shut down for too much traffic!  So, after thinking about it and working on the concept, I attempted to start the move of my podccast last night.  I only had one problem.  Mypodcast.com wants my podcasts to be at 44100khz and at 96kbps (for those who podcast, you’ll know what I talk about).  Not all my podcasts are at this level.  As a matter of fact, most are of a significantly lower quality.  So, last night I started the humongous task of recoding all my podcasts.  Because of this, my laptop was on all night recoding shows.  I got up this morning and continued with the process.

I then worked on cleaning the house one last time before relatives were to start showing up for Christmas.  Tomorrow my in-laws are showing up to celebrate with us and my parents and brother and sister in-law will be showing up on Monday.  I’m excited to have our version of the Griswold Family Christmas, let’s just hope ours turns out better.  So, in between recoding podcasts I continually cleaned.  We had dinner and lunch on our own as it was kind of a “fend for yourself” day by eating leftovers out of the fridge.  Heather left this afternoon to do some last minute Christmas shopping for the kids for stocking stuffers and for me, she didn’t want me to know what she was getting, even though I begged her to get me Guitar Hero with the guitar.  We agreed that we were going to exchange our gifts tomorrow after my in-laws left and before my parents showed up on Monday.

By this evening, I was down to getting shows unto the mypodcast page.  I tried several times to do it via the wireless network in my house, but after hours of frustration and no results, I decided to hardwire my laptop to the router and try moving the podcasts to their website via that route.  After two hours of downloading, it worked!  Great, only twenty or more shows to go.  That’s when I realized that this was going to take a LONG time to move my podcast.  Well, slow, tedious, but it will get there.  So, tonight I will do my final review of “Outbound Flight” and then from now until Christmas day, I will blog without a review of any books.  I may not have much time online over the next three or four days while I try to move all these files.  Ah, the sacrifices I make for my love of podcasting and Star Wars.  All well, LOL!
Okay, so let me do one last final review of the book “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


 

FINAL REVIEW
Positives:  This book had many positive aspects to it.  I really liked the character development.  Although I knew the characters were going to live and I knew where most of them would end up, the development of these characters kept me intrigued and involved in the book.  But, I have to say that this is one thing that Timothy Zahn has always had going for him and that is what made his first book trilogy so successful.  I liked the introduction to all the alien speices that was explored through this book, especially the Vagaari.  I also like the mystique of the book and the surprise ending.  There were many twists and turns and you never knew what to expect and when the plot line was going to change.  This made the book intriguing.  I do like the fact that you didn’t know the twist until the last moments when they happened.  Another positive was the fact that the book went into the complexes of the pirates and smugglers in the Star Wars universe.  I just don’t feel that a lot of time has been spent on this group of individuals in the Star Wars universe and I felt a little time was spent here.  Also, I liked the idea of some of the weapons that were used throughout the book, including the grav projector.  I like the idea that they have a weapon that would pull any ship out of hyperspace.  This is a cool concept and could be scarily dangerous should it make it into the Republic at a later time.  Finally, the objects that were described, were described well.  Zahn didn’t take a lot of time describing these things, but did enough of an explanation that I could picture what he was describing.  So, not too wordy but enough words to properly describe the information handed to me.
Negatives:  This book did have some negatives, however.  I was rather annoyed at the fact that the story seemed to change tracks so quickly.  I really wish authors used the concepts of page breaks or chapters in a more efficient way.  There were points in time where I was annoyed at the fact that I did not know where we were in the story.  Another negative of this book was that I felt that we spent more time on Thrawn and his side of the story than on Outbound Flight itself.  Remember, the name of the book is Outbound Flight, yet somehow, this book seems to be more about the Chiss and the Vagaari than Outbound Flight itself.  The story at the beginning of this book was a giant wast of time and I believe that it could’ve been summed up instead of presented as an entire story.  Finally, I would have liked to have seen even more of a character development about the history of Jedi Master Joruus C’Baoth.  I wanted to know more about where this infamous Jedi Master came from and why he was put in charge of such an auspicious project.
With all of this considered, I really did like the book overall.  I have to say that a lot of it has to do with Zahn’s writing style which I have always liked.  However, I’m not so sure that this book is an absolute must read.  You already could get a lot of this information in Zahn’s original book trilogy and this story seemed to just take some of those facts and work with it.  Because of all of this, I give the book a:

Overall:  7

Leave a Reply

