‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 24 (Part 10)

It’s Friday.  It’s a good day on many levels!  It’s the last day of school before Christmas break, it’s payday and it’s almost Christmas!!  Gotta love all of that happening at once.  I bounced out of bed this morning looking forward to the fact that it was the last day of school for at least two weeks. So, the kids and I got our things together in a quick and jovial fashion this morning.  I was happy that as long as I made it through today with my students, I would then be free until the day after New Year’s Day.  You know, when I was a kid in school, I thought teachers loved being in school and hated snow days and breaks and would rather be at school all day long.  Little did I know that teachers looked forward to snow days and breaks as much as I did as a student.

I went to school and we started to film for our music video projects.  I had one group that had a really good idea what they wanted to do and I had another group that just had one bad day in filming.  I told them that it happens even to the most professional groups.  At the end of the period I talked to that group and told them that they have all break to regroup and figure out what they want to do.  The filming didn’t go too bad and I think my students are starting to see the value in recording using a green screen.  I told students that when we get back, we’ll use that Thursday and Friday to continue filming.  My sixth graders watched “American Idol”, Season 6 with me while they filled out my sheets.  It’s interesting as I have made some of my students really excited about Season 7 of “American Idol” which will be starting soon.  My seventh graders started their Music Podcast projects and seemed to do okay with the concepts, but were struggling getting them recorded the way they wanted to.

I got done with school and like every other teacher in the building, when three-thirty hit, I was out the door right after the last kid left the building.  I got home tonight and breathed a sigh of relief.  I no more than got in the door than Heather wanted to leave again.  She wanted to go out and go shopping for gifts for me and she wanted to get some groceries for the weekend and next week.  I understood and told her that we could leave right away, even though I wanted to do some things around the house this evening.  We left and went to Aldi’s, Wal Mart, Toys R Us, the mall and got some dinner at “Moe’s”.  We got home fairly late, so we decided to put the kids to bed and do some gift wrapping downstairs before we went to bed.  Tomorrow, we would finish cleaning the house and getting ready to celebrate Christmas with my in-laws on Sunday.
Okay, so let’s cover the last and final portion of the final chapter of the book “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 24 (Part 10):  The violent impact had passed and Uliar said hello and a voice answered saying it’s Pressor.  They asked each other if they were okay and each individual answered positively.  Pressor asked where the others were and Uliar said they scattered when Pressor gave the collision warning.  Uliar said ti was a mess and Pressor agreed and wondered what had happened.  Neither of them knew, but they did know they didn’t feel blasts or torpedoes.  Pressor said they would need to gather food, water, medical supplies, and people.  Then they would have to worry about shelter and getting to the bridge to see what had happened.  Uliar said it was good that Pressor warned them and asked how he knew about it and Pressor said it just popped into his head.  Uliar implied he had Jedi senses and Pressor wrote it off saying he must have heard something that warned him.  Uliar placated him saying that it must be what it was.  Uliar thought that he would be watching Pressor and his family closer to see if they really do have Jedi abilities.  They needed to survive now and headed down the corridor.

Leave a Reply

