‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 23 (Part 7)

Friday.  Last day of the week and it somehow seems as though Christmas is just looming around the corner.  I got up this morning and got the kids ready for school.  They seemed happy it was Friday and I told them that daddy will be happy when next week is over.  They headed off to school and daddy headed off to work.

My students at school had some simple lesson plans to work with and they seemed to like them.  My eighth grade students finished their research in the library for their music video projects.  My seventh grade students finished their research in the library for their podcasting projects.  My sixth grade students continued their projects on American Idol by watching Idol Season 6 with guided lesson sheets.  It was not a bad day all around and I think my eighth grade students are really going to come up with some good music videos.  My seventh graders I wish were thinking outside the box a little more, but I think they’re afraid to do that because of their peers in the room.

I got done with my day with my students today and went home.  For the first time in a long time, I had a free night.  But, my wife decided to throw a wrench into the idea of staying home and doing nothing.  She decided she wanted to check out the new store over in Johnson City called “The Christmas Tree Shoppe”.  I told her that was okay, but we could only go if we went over to Toys R’Us while were there since it was right in the same plaza.  We found some great figures there, but because it’s Christmas season and I’ve already given my mother a list, I was only allowed to get one figure.  Bummer, but some of the figures there looked really cool and I hope I can mange to find again at some point.  We then went over to The Christmas Tree Shoppe and I have to say it was a very interesting place.  I almost had Heather talked into buying a chocolate fountain, but she held off saying we don’t need one and other than Christmas eve, when would we use it again?  I tried to say that we have a social life, but in reality we don’t and we probably wouldn’t use it other than when we get together with family every once in a while.  We got done at the Christmas Tree Shoppe and decided to go home.  We got back fairly late and decided to watch some T.V. and go to bed.
Okay, so it’s time to talk about Part 7 of Chapter 23 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 23 (Part 7):  The turbolift reached D-4 with relative ease and the Dreadnaught didn’t look bad, besides th amount of bodies laying around.  Lorana watched as the medical droids cared the bodies away and she stretched out with The Force through the comm stations to see if anyone was alive, but everyone was dead.  She noted the attackers weren’t around either and she wondered where the Chiss were as they wouldn’t attack Outbound Flight just to abandon it.  She moved on.  She couldn’t reach D-3, but moved on to D-5 and D-6 and she found the same dreadful results as D-4.  On her way to D-1, she caught the faint signs of life, aliens, adn the turbolift was heading straight for them.  She held tight to her lightsaber and wondered how the Chiss would handle themselves in a face to face confrontation.  She manipulated the door so they would open at the D-1 deck.  She decided to take the stairs to the bridge instead…..

Leave a Reply

