‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 22 (Part 11)

Monday.  I’m exhausted from last week and the weekend.  I’ll be honest, this wasn’t much of a vacation for me.  To make matters worse, I spent almost all of my weekend in a car and I am just not a fan of the idea of being couped up in a car all day long like that, but it happened three times this weekend which made me hate driving even more.  It was a little awkward to get up without he kids this morning.  Heather and I both got up at my usual time this morning and she decided to cook me breakfast which was a nice touch.  I had some eggs and grits before heading off to work and I have to say it was nice and relaxing having just her and I in the house together.  I guess this is what my life will be like twenty years from now when (hopefully) all of the kids have moved out of the house.  After my nice relaxing morning, I headed off to work.  I felt bad for Heather because she had to get in the car again and head off to Rochester.
Work went okay this morning.  My students were definetly NOT awake this morning and I think they were just wiped out as much as I was.  But, I summoned on my powers of energy and really tried to relay that to my students.  Today was also the first day that I played Tuba with the band during lunch.  I’ve come to the conclusion that I’ll have to be in the auditorium for the next three weeks to get ready for the concert during my free time.  It’s hard to believe that the concert has snuck up on us that fast!  I continued to bring equipment in the auditorium today for the sound system and I told Rob that I would have all the equipment set up by the end of this week barring any major problems.
After a long day at work, I got home to an empty house.  I half expected it, and I have to say it was odd to have such an empty house yet again.  But, after an hour, my kids came home and took care of all of that.  They were so excited about being at grammy and papas on their own and I got the lowdown on everything they did while they were up there.  Once Heather got home we started dinner and all ate dinner together.  We decided not to take Austin to Boy Scouts tonight so that we could give him a chance to get to bed early as they all seemed tired after coming home, which I could understand.  Tomorrow would be a long day for them and Heather as they would all get back to their routines again.
Okay, let’s talk about Part 11 of Chapter 22 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 22 (Part 11):  As the droid starfighters contineud to push their attack on the Vagaari, they suddenly stopped  their attack and moved out.  Car’das used his microbinoculars and noted that the surviving Vagaari ships were making their way to the edge of the grav projector field.  Car’das wondered if the droid starfighters ran out of fuel, but then he realized they were all running away from the Vagaari and toward Outbound Flight.  Not only were the droid starfighters attacking the Dreadnaughts with lasers and torpedoes, but they were slamming into the hull of the ships at full speed as well.  That’s when Car’das realized that the starfighters were not trying to get through the hull of the ship, but to make dents where the interior blast doors were.  With the doors warped close, the other starfighters could open the Dreadnaughts to space and there would be no way to repressurize the ship…..

Leave a Reply

