‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 21 (Part 10)

I woke up this morning and I am still exhausted physically from yesterday.  I don’t know why.  Maybe it’s because I didn’t take my fifteen minute nap in the afternoon or maybe it’s because I was working all day long on something or another.  But, I got myself going for the day and managed to motivate my kids to get going for the day.  The one thing that we kept talking about this morning is the amount of traveling we’ll be doing next week and I warned them that it was going to be a rough week or two.  I’ll talk about that later next week.

I got to school today and do what I always do with my students on Thursday.  Music history.  Some students get into it and really like it and other students hate it and can’t wait until we’re done with music history.  Either way, I enjoy doing it and feel I have a lot of information to share with them.  Let’s be honest, Social Studies teachers talk about music a little in their class, but they don’t have the time to devote to the history of music and the musical eras and when they took place and how it all works out.  I make sure I make connections for my students so that what they’re learning in social studies connects with what they’re learning in my class.  Anyway, my eighth graders learn about Jazz and Rock, my seventh graders learn about Classical Music, and my sixth graders get an overview of music history (I call it an introduction).  My goal is that when a student leaves my classroom they’ve had a history of music from the beginning of time through the fifties and maybe sixties.  I haven’t been able to extend it further yet, although I would like to find a time when I could.

I got done with school today and went home and took a twenty minute nap with Heather.  We then got up and got dinner together and had a nice dinner with the kids that wasn’t rushed at all.  We finished dinner and Heather and I went downstairs and watched our usual T.V. programs.  Then we went to bed as tomorrow was going to be another long, but relaxing day.
Okay, let’s talk about Part 10 of Chapter 21 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 21 (Part 10):  Car’das explained to the Vagaari that the ships in front of them are not responding because they don’t know the Vagaari language.  The Miskara demanded that he act as translator and Car’das reluctantly agreed.  Then the Miskara asked how deep into the ship that these droid fighters are and Car’das said they are very deep.  The Miskara sounded excited and said they could destroy half the ship and still get their prize.  The Miskara then had Car’das translate to Outbound Flight for them to surrender or be destroyed.

Leave a Reply

