‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 21 (Part 9)

Well, today went very well.  It was only a half-day of school, so that helped to calm my nerves about school, home, work, and my kids getting themselves together.  We all got up at our normal time this morning and got ourselves prepared for the day.  Ruth and Austin are now starting to take showers at night, which is helping things go a little smoother in the morning.  Tara is still way too slow in the mornings, but I’m convinced that she will improve or she will get on my last nerve.  I think the latter is more likely than the former.  But hey, it could be worse, we could have only one car and I would have to wake up at four-thirty in the morning again.  I don’t even want to have to think about that!

I got to school and we decided we were going to run a first through fourth period schedule this morning.  That was a little rough for me, because I only get one period off from students to try and get things done.  On the other hand, I had the whole afternoon to work on things that I needed to get done.  So, I taught all morning and did things like handing out workbooks to my new students for the quarter.  It was another okay day with my students from second quarter.  I have one class that seems talkative, but I’m not sure if it was because they were excited about the half day of classes, or if it was because they are starting to get used to me and my class.  But, it was a pleasant morning this morning.  I decided to eat in today and it looked like everyone else was going out, so I ate lunch in my room by myself, which was a nice silent change of pace.  Once I finished with lunch I did some tidying up around my room and then took my recorders downstairs to get them washed in the dishwasher for next quarter.  It worked out well and my afternoon was busy with paperwork and the things that needed to get done for next quarter and the paperwork that needed to be completed from last quarter.  It was good to get all of that out of the way, which means next week I can concentrate my half a day on getting ready for vacation and maybe even catching up on this blog and my podcast.  It was a good relaxing day, and I went home to a house that was falling apart.

I came home and will be honest, I went on a cleaning binge.  I was just sick of my house looking like a hurricane had hit it, so I started going crazy organizing and cleaning things.  I started with the basement because this is the area of the house where I make the most mess.  I started to do it today because I know we’re going to have people coming for Christmas and I want our house to look like it’s partially clean.  After going on my cleaning tirade, it was time for dinner.  We ate dinner and then Heather and I went downstairs to watch our usual T.V. shows on Wednesday night.  Tomorrow will be a full day, but there are only two more to the week and then I get the weekend all to myself.  Yeah!
Okay, let’s talka bout Part 9 of Chapter 21 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 21 (Part 9):  C’Baoth told Lorana that they arrived quickly through the inner-ship comlink.  He summized it was a Chiss trick and Lorana asked what they were doing and C’Baoth said they were just waiting.  He tells Lorana that Pakmillu said their ship designs were vastly different from Chiss designs and Lorana said that maybe the new ships had nothing to do with the Chiss, but C’Baoth doubted that was the case as this can’t be a coincidence.  Uliar asked Lorana what was going on and she informed him that a fleet of unidentifiable ships has arrived and that 100 out of the 200 ships appear to be warships.  As she continued to talk to Uliar, C’Baoth asked Jinzler who she was talking to.  Lorana continued to tell Uliar that they were trying to figure out if the ships were Chiss, Chiss allies, or a different species altogether.  Uliar asked whether their emissions were like Thrawn’s ships and again C’Baoth demanded Jedi Jinzler tell him who she was talking to.  Lorana tells C’Baoth that Reactor Tech Uliar believes they can figure out their identity from their reactor emissions.  C’Baoth asked what Uliar was doing outside of captivity and Lorana said they were on their way there and since he was an expert, but C’Baoth interupted saying he has loyal experts on the bridge and to leave the aliens to him.  He stopped talking abruptly and said they were being hailed by the enemy.  Lorana noted the musical element of the language and she asked Uliar if he recognized it, but he said it is not a language that a human could develop.  C’Baoth interupted and told Jedi Jinzler to get the conspirators to their holding cell and then to join Master Ma’Ning in their weapons blisters.   Lorana agreed and put her comlink away.  Uliar asked if they were in trouble and Lorana said they were okay, but that she needed to get to D-4.  She said they will straighten out this situation when the aliens leave….

Leave a Reply

