‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 21 (Part 8)

Okay, first day back from my day off from work.  I have to say it was nice to have a day off, but it had me dragging my feet today.  I got up at my usual time today and got the kids ready for school.  I think we all dragged this morning and I think the kids feel like I do and that is that we need another day off to really get ourselves going for the rest of the week.  But hey, that was not about to happen, so reality had to kick in and we realized that we were just going to have to suck it up and go to school/work.

I got to work and it was a tough day.  But only because it was the beginning of the semester.  The first day of the semester is always hard as we are trying to get to know new kids, we are trying to update attendance, gradebooks, and trying to get ourselves going for the semester.  My students were quiet and listened patiently and attentively.  I always like to refer to that as the “fishbowl syndrome”.  If you’ve ever seen a fish the first time it is put into a fish tank, it usually swims around and explores.  After a week or two, the fish stops exploring the tank and has decided that it has seen everything there is to see in the fish tank.  I feel like my students are the same way at times.  They take a week or two to get their bearings, but once they get comfortable with me and the classroom, I start to see them act more like themselves and less like a scared student.  Especially my sixth graders.  The day seemed to go by quickly and before I knew it, the school day was done.  So far, I don’t have any problem classes or even students.  We’ll see.

I got home this evening and crashed yet again.  I slept for a good twenty minutes, which I totally needed, but then again, I don’t think I’m over this bug I had over the weekend and I think it’s just sucking the energy out of me.  After a nap, I helped Heather get dinner together and then we went downstairs and watched our usual T.V. shows, but we’re starting to see reruns.  And not just some of our shows, but a LOT of them.  There are two reasons.  First, the first round of shows are out and everytime we get towards Thanksgiving, we see some reruns.  However, this year, the writers in Hollywood are on strike and it’s starting to affect the T.V. shows that everyone watches.  I predict now that if this strike isn’t resolved in a month, the networks are going to potentially tank in the next six months and it may be the death of T.V. for good.  It MAY be.  Of course, I could be completely wrong!
Okay, let’s talk about Part 8 of Chapter 21 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 21 (Part 8):  Thrawn pointed out the canopy of “The Springhawk” to Doriana the approaching vessel.  When Doriana asked who they were, Thrawn explained that this was a race of conquerers known as the Vagaari.  Thrawn summized that Car’das was trying to lead the Vagaari from their last battle point back to his base on Crustai.  Doriana asked if Car’das betrayed him, but Thrawn wrote it off as a matter of perspective.  Doriana asked what they would do and Thrawn said they may be cooperative.  Doriana didn’t see how, but Thrawn told him to wait and have patience…..

Leave a Reply

