‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 21 (Part 3)

Thursday.  The week is almost over and I have to say that things are looking up for the weekend.  I’m excited because I actually get a three-day weekend this coming weekend, so as busy as this week has been, I get three days to make up for all the work from the week.  The kids and I got up at our usual time today and got ourselves ready for school.  The kids sound like they’re ready for the three day weekend from talking to them this morning.
I got to school today and continued to give finals.  I’ve started with the functional part of the final exam which means my students are playing instruments (pianos and recorders) for the final exam.  I find it very interesting that either they do amazingly well (and not necesarily all the band, orchestra, and choral students) on their instrument, or the student has no clue as to what is going on.  The more this happens during a final exam, the more I’m convinced that it’s not “practice makes perfect”, but “perfect practice makes incredible”.  The students who don’t do well on this part of the final exam are always the students who aren’t practicing properly and are the ones goofing around with the keyboards instead of practicing on them.  We started with that part of the final today and tomorrow we’ll be finishing that up.  I have been looking through my records today and there are quite a few students who have been absent from testing.  I even got told by some other students that some students are absent from testing on purpose.  I’ve had the most absentees that I’ve had in the six years I’ve been teaching here.  I wonder if that is happening with the other subject areas?
I got done with school and came home and took a brief nap and then spent some time with my wife and the kids.  Tonight was the awards banquet for the Vestal Marching Band and I can’t wait to get out there and let them know just how well they did this year.  I ate a light dinner with my family tonight so I could save some room to eat with the Vestal Band.  I got to the ceremony a little later than I wanted to, but had plenty of time to reflect on the year with the staff and students.  We handed out awards which was done in a very cool way using powerpoint presentations, etc.  There was a lot that happened this year, and I guess I came up with a lot of catch phrases this year that I never even realized I had even said.  For example, at one point before going on the field I must have said to the students that tonight they needed to be like Nike and “Just do it!”  Don’t remember saying that, but I’m sure the kids are not wrong.  I received (for the second year in a row) the “Just One More Time” award.  I guess I can’t help myself when it comes to that phrase.  When we got done with the awards, we watched the DVD of the finals show.  I have to say, I was again blown away by the performance of the Vestal kids.  They did awesome!!!  And now I talk with some perspective under my belt.  I watched that performance and asked myself, “what didn’t the judges get?”  Their last half of the show was stellar and their first half was pretty good as well.  I don’t get it.  I told Jim tonight that I think that it’s him and I.  I think that somehow us being affiliated with this marching band is actually bringing the scores of the band down.  We’ve broken too many rules in the NYSFBC and pissed off too many people in the conference and I think that is playing against us.  We had a great dinner with the students and signed many autographs in their yearbooks.
I got done and got home by about nine o’clock or so and Heather and I watched “C.S.I” together as well as “Law and Order:  Criminal Intent” on USA Network and then we went to bed.  Tomorrow will be Friday and another day.
Okay, let’s talk about Part 3 of Chapter 21 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 21 (Part 3):  Uliar had managed to get rid of his swoop in the time it took for the negotiations to take place.  He wondered where Pressor and the others were, it had been twenty minutes and no communication.  He knew they couldn’t us the comms as C’Baoth would be monitoring them.  Lorana Jinzler and the strange alien that was definetly not part of The Republic, which began to extinguis his hopes somewhat, made their way down the hall.  But, Uliar had hopes that Thrawn would somehow get Outbound Flight to turn around or take their ratins enough that the same may happen.  As they rounded the corner, Uliar tried to speak, but his mouth and tongue refused to work.  He tried and tried, but nothing came out!  He tried to step out in front of them, but his legs refused to work as well.  Now a voice came into his ear speaking of treason.  Then C’Baoth said that his people at Comm Ops notified him of the unidentified swoop moving from D-4…..

Leave a Reply

