‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 21 (Part 1)

Tuesday.  Second day of this final week of the quarter and I have to say that I got up on time today with a smile on my face.  I’m not sure why, but I guess it has to do with the fact that today was going to be the last day of instruction with this particular group of students and I take the time on a morning like this to reflect on what we’ve done so far this quarter.  I have to say that I’m impressed with this group of students.  We’ve had some of the most successful podcast projects and music videos that I’ve had since I started these concepts a year ago.  I’ve produced the most videos I’ve ever produced in one quarter.  I’m proud of them and myself for being able to get that all accomplished.
Well, my kids and I got up this morning and got ourselves going for the school day and got off to school and work.  I got to school and had things already set up for “Review Music Jeopardy” today.  I had a friend at school who sent me Jeopardy in a PowerPoint presentation format a few years ago and I’ve used it ever since and it has made doing this review game much, much easier to play.  We had some great, aggressive review games and I love doing this game because everyone loves the game and everyone seems to get involved and seems to want to see their team do well.  It’s cool to see kids competing at such a high level just to do their reveiw for music class and I’m glad they enjoy this day of the quarter.
I had a very fulfilling day as a teacher and then had to head to the high school for a staff meeting for the music teachers.  I must admit I never look forward to these meetings, but then again, what teacher ever looks forward to a staff meeting.  Not many that I know.  The meeting went about as smooth as could be expected, rocky in other words.  And the district is making some interesting decisions.  I won’t give details here as I like my job, but I have to say that some of these decisions are obviously being made without thinking it through or without talking with the staff that it affects the most.  I think the big thing that any school district must do is communicate and not dictate.  My district, along with many others acrossed the country, have decided that schools are a buisness and the “workers” will be dictated to.  I say, “yes, sir” or “yes, ma’am” and do my job to the best of my ability, but never seem to have any input as to how things are going to be run.  Not a good environment for teachers, but it’s not just here.  It’s all over the country.  Don’t believe me?  Ask your local teachers and you’ll find out the truth.
Okay, I’ll get off my soap box now.  I got done with the meeting and went home and ate dinner with my family.  I vented about my day a little and then Heather and I had an extremely relaxing evening in the basement as she was sewing and I was blogging and we were both watching our usual T.V. shows.  It was nice to relax a little as the rest of my week was still going to be pretty busy.
Okay, let’s talk about Part 1 of Chapter 21 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn……


Chapter 21 (Part 1):  Lorana was impressed that Thrawn was a humanoid and the demeanor with which he carried himself.  Thrawn explained thy he intercepted Outbound Flight and C’Baoth responded saying it was impossible that a species this far from the center of the universe was pillaging and attacking.  Then C’Baoth said that if such a species existed, The Republic would know about it by now!  Lorana pointed out that it could explain Vergere, but C’Baoth said it would not take an entire speices to kill a Jedi.  Then C’Baoth stated that Thrawn must be lieing as he made a reference to Darth Sidious, and Darth was a Sith title and the Sith have been dead for centuries.  Thrawn stood his ground and said he didn’t care about any of this and told C’Baoth that he was not going to let Outbound Flight through and told them to turn back, or he’ll be force to destroy them.  C’Baoth laughed and said Thrawn’s twelve ships won’t last a second versus his Dreadnaughts and Jedi.  Thrawn said they have two choices, turn back or die…..

Leave a Reply

