‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 20 (Part 8)

Monday.  You know, I thought I was going to get my life back this week, but somehow, I am starting to loose all the free time starting today.  I starting looking at my schedule for this week and I realized that somehow I’ve lost all that free time I thought I had to things like Boy Scouts and SMASH now.  All well.  It was a typical Monday.  We got up on time for school and I got the kids ready to go.  This morning we started with the concept of the kids eating lunch at school on a regular basis and I have to say that it really does save me time when getting the kids ready for school.  We got out the door on time and I headed off to work.
Work was okay today.  I’ll be happy when this week is over because I always find the last week of the quarter stressful.  I’ll have final exams later this week and I spend most of the week this week getting students ready for those final exams.  Today we finished any and all extra workbook work and let students know how Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday were going to work.  It was a typical day with my students, so not much to talk about there.  I got done with work and headed straight home.
I got home and talked with the kids about their school day a little bit and then we ate dinner fairly quick as Austin and I had to get off to Boy Scouts tonight.  We ate quickly and got changed and got on the road to Boy Scouts.  We got to the meeting and found out we are working toward the Forestry part of the Webelos badge and we had a cool little thing to do tonight with the kids by having them identify old-fashioned tools and our leader didn’t even know some of them and I was proud of myself because not only did my dad own some of these old fashioned tools, but I remember using them on my pinewood derby car when I was in Scouts.  Austin was pretty proud of his dad and the fact that he knew so much about hand tools and could explain things to the boys that some other adults in the room couldn’t do.  What shocked me is the fact that I think I was one of the youngest adults in the room and yet knew more about the old fashioned hand tools that some of the older adults had never used.  Okay, I’m patting myself on the back too much!  We got done with Scouts and came home and Austin headed straight to bed and I went downstairs with Heather and we watched our usual T.V. shows for Monday night and went to bed at our usual time.
Okay, let’s talk about Part 8 of Chapter 20 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 20 (Part 8):  Three hours later, the Miskara summoned Car’das to the throne room to let him know they are ready to gain their vengance on Thrawn.  The Miskara said they would leave at once and Car’das begged him to remind his warriors to be careful as his friends were still prisoners at the base.  The Miskara said he has not forgotten and then offers Car’das the best view of the battle.  As cold concepts enter his head, Car’das if that is on the bridge of a ship and the Miskara said it will be in a forward most external bubble on his flagship.  Car’das said he didn’t understand as he thought he offered the Vagaari enough to appease them.  The Vagaari insisted that this was a trap and that he would attack the base with his entire fleet, even after Car’das insisted this was not the case.  The Miskara said that if it is as he claimed then the Chiss will easily be destroyed, if not, Car’das will be the first to die in the battle.  Before they took Car’das away he told the Miskara that he hped his soldiers were capable enough.  Shortly after, Car’das was thrown into an external bubble with air, water, and ration cubes in a room the size of a large coffin.  Car’das hoped the Miskara was sending the whole fleet.

Leave a Reply

