‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 20 (Part 7)

Sunday.  A day of rest for the Crissman family and I have to say I took HUGE advantage of this today!  We got up around seven-thirty this morning and got ourselves and the kids ready for church.  It was a typical Sunday and I have to say that it’s nice to have time in our lives to actually get back to church again, which I’ve been feeling guilty about not being at on a regular basis, but I guess that I keep making these sacrifices for good causes between football and cheerleading and my Star Wars group where we’re fundraising money for charities, I guess that’s my way of justifying it all.  It was a decent church service today and I was able to enjoy it from my seat in the pew which almost hasn’t happened since we joined this church.  I know there are those in the congregation that don’t understand why I won’t help with sound lately.  It’s a simple reason really, it’s like taking your job home with you.  I do sound and lights at my school and for other schools now, all the time and I’m quite honestly tired of getting stuck behind a sound board.  It’s nice to be able to worship at church without being stuck behind that sound board.  I know I should enjoy it all, but over the last year or so, I have really started to dread the idea of working at a sound or light board.  I may feel differently a year from now, or I may not.
We got done with church and I came home and I crashed with the rest of the family.  We had a Sunday afternoon lazy afternoon nap.  Everybody napped in their own way.  Heather layed down on the bed upstairs and I went downstairs, turned on football, and fell asleep in my vastly comfortable chair.  The kids took short naps in their beds and then headed outside to play.  It was a nice quiet afternoon.  We enjoyed being lazy and Heather decided that dinner tonight was going to be leftovers, so we ate of the fridge and just made it a nice relaxing day.  That was okay with me as I knew these next few weeks were going to be stressful, right up until it was time for Thanksgiving break, so until then, anytime I can get to relax is a good moment in my day.  Not much to say about a lazy Sunday afternoon.
Okay, so let’s talk about Part 7 of Chapter 20 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 20 (Part 7):  You could hear C’Baoth’s invitation to Thrawn on the D-4 monitor.  Command contacted Uliar at the D-4 engines and Uliar said they haven’t been able to get anywhere.  They’re sending plenty of power to the hyperdirve, it’s just not making it there!  Pressor cuts in insisting that the computers are reading a grav field.  they were told to continue running diagnostics and Pressor muttered to himself that this was insane once the monitor turned off.  Uliar aid the insanity continues considering Thrawn seems to speak perfect basic, and insisted they needed to speak with him as he may be their only hope to getting the Jedi off their ship.  Pressor makes the guess that Thrawn is not a big-wig in The Republic, but a pirate who’s trying to rob Outbound Flight.  Uliar insists they have to try but Pressor reminds him that they are still on duty.  Uliar says they’re on duty to a reactor that is working fine and tells Pressor that this may be their last chance to get Outbound Flight back to where it should be.  Pressor agreed and said they don’t have much time to get everyone all the way to D-One.  Uliar told Pressor to get everyone, including the children for sympathy to D-One, he would figure out a way to keep Thrawn here.  Uliar found a swoop not too far from where he was and he whipped through the empty halls because of the ship being on alert.  He knew he needed to see Thrawn before he left Outbound Flight…..

Leave a Reply

