‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 20 (Part 6)

Friday.  End of the week and I keep telling myself I will get my life back in order.  I keep saying that but somehow the harder I work at getting my life straightened out and back in order, the further out of order my life gets.  Maybe I’m just expecting to do too much in very little time in my life.  Today was a typical day, if there ever is one in my life.  I got up at my usual time and got the kids ready for school.  I will be really happy when we have some days off coming up soon because I have to say that it is really draining on me energy wise to have to keep getting up and get these kids ready for school.  I don’t think Heather realizes how much of a stress this has put on me.

Anyway, I got the kids ready for the day and I left a little early again, leaving Ruth in charge for ten minutes until they needed to leave for the bus or for their babysitter.  I got to school early and set up for some more green screening.  I really am enjoying what my students are developing for their videos.  Today was the last day of shooting and quite honestly we got quite a few of the videos done and “in the can”.  On the other hand, there were quite a few videos that we never got completed because they weren’t organized enough to have their information together.  I even had a group change their mind on what they wanted to do TODAY!  Okay, I have to say that they learned a lesson and that is that someone who is developing a project can’t change their project last minute and expect it to work.  Whoops!  Hey, it was still and educational experience.  We finished up with our podcasting projects today and then I had my sixth graders finish watching “American Idol” for the last time.  They were a little sad, but understood that next week was the time for final exams.

I got done with the day and went home and got to work on my other work.  I worked on putting together my notes for “Novel Ideas” and after dinner I raced downstairs to begin recording.  I spent most of the night recording the episode.  I also managed to convey through emails that next week I would be able to interview Chris Macht, the director of the movie, “The Force Among Us” which I was planning on highlighting in my next episode of “The Jedi Council Speaks”.  I was glad that he seemed excited about being on the show and really am looking forward to the interview.  I got done recording and setting up the interview and it was now eleven o’clock and I realized that I missed the first episode of “Nip/Tuck” tonight, so I watched that from eleven till twelve-thirty tomorrow morning and then out of exhaustion, I went to bed.  Tomorrow I would hopefully get “Novel Ideas” up and published.
Okay, let’s talk about Part 6 of Chapter 20 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 20 (Part 6):  Lorana had arrived to a bustling D-1 Bridge.  Behind Pakmillu’s chair stood C’Baoth who was looking out the viewport at a dozen or more ships she did not recognize.  The engineering officer barked out that they came out of hyperspace because they were reading a planetary mass, but that was not possible.  Over the speakers boomed a voice introducing himself as Thrawn of the Chiss Expansionary Defense Fleet and asked for a response.  Lorana asked who that was and Pakmillu said it was the man in charge of the fleet in front of them and that he’s been saying that every five minutes, for the last half hour.  Lorana asked why they haven’t responded and Pakmillu said C’Baoth was forbidding it until they can figure out what happened to their hyperdrive.  Lorana insisted on talking to him and C’Baoth greeted her and said they have their first challenge.  Lorana suggested that they may only want to talk, but C’Baoth said he sensed a great malice toward his people and his ship.  C’Baoth said he would not talk until they were ready and Lorana and C’Baoth were interupted by Ma’Ning on the comm letting them know that the weapons in D-4 were ready.  C’Baoth said now they were ready to talk and walked over to the command chair and sat in it and introduced himself to Thrawn as Jedi Master Jorus C’Baoth, commanding the Outbound Flight Project.  Thrawn introduced himself and then made himself visible on the screen and insisted they speak at once.  Banter was exchanged until C’Baoth agreed and said a hatch will be illuminated for them.  Pakmillu sounded surprised he would let Thrawn onboard until C’Baoth pointed out that Thrawn knew perfect basic.  Something was up and he wanted to find out what it was…..

Leave a Reply

